|Statute by category||Citation||Summary|
|OK - Assistance Animals - Assistance Animal/Guide Dog Laws||7 Okl. St. Ann. § 12 - 13; Okl. St. Ann. § 19.1 - 19.2; 21 Okl. St. Ann. § 649.3; 25 Okl. St. Ann. § 1452; 41 Okl. St. Ann. § 113.1; 41 Okl. St. Ann. § 113.2||
The following statutes comprise the state's relevant assistance animal and guide dog laws.
|OK - Breeder - Oklahoma Statutes Annotated. Title 4. Animals. Chapter 1A. Commercial Pet Breeders Act of 2012||4 Okl.St.Ann. § 30.1 - 30.16||
This section comprises Oklahoma's Commercial Pet Breeders Act of 2012, now called the Commercial Pet Breeders and Animal Shelter Licensing Act. The law is now administered under the State Board of Agriculture. The high end of possible penalties for violations under the new act was increased to $10,000. The law requires a commercial breeders' directory be kept. The Board must post on its website the directory of commercial pet breeders who have been denied licensing, or whose licenses have been revoked.
|OK - Cruelty - Animal Facilities Protection Act/Consolidated Cruelty Laws||21 Okl. St. Ann. 1680 - 1700; 21 Okl. St. Ann. § 886||
These Oklahoma statutes comprise the Animal Protection Act. The main thrust of the act is the prohibition of animal cruelty and animal fighting. Included in the provisions are the definitions (including the statutory definition of "animal") and the prohibited acts related to animal facilities. The statute further provides that no one shall intentionally damage the enterprise conducted at an animal facility (including releasing animals there with the intent to deprive the owner of such facility). Violation incurs a felony with a fine of up to $5,000 or imprisonment up to seven years or both.
|OK - Dangerous - § 717. Owner of mischievous animal which kills person||21 Okl. St. Ann. § 717||
This Oklahoma law states that an owner of a "mischievous animal" who knowing its propensities allows it to go at large or does not exercise ordinary care in keeping it, will be guilty of manslaughter in the second degree if while at large it kills a human.
|OK - Dangerous dog - § 44. Definitions||4 Okl. St. Ann. § 44||
This Oklahoma statute provides the definitions related to dangerous dog laws in the state, including dangerous dog, potentially dangerous dog, severe injury, and owner, among others.
|OK - Disaster - Care and Disposition of Disaster Animals Act||4 Okl. St. Ann. § 701 - 707||
These statutes compose the Care and Disposition of Disaster Animals Act of Oklahoma. The Act describes where animals who are rescued from a disaster area should be held, how long the animals should be held for their owners, and also restricts disaster animals from being removed from the state. The statute also describes the penalties for knowingly removing disaster animals from the state including a civil fine of up to One Thousand Dollars ($1,000.00) per offense.
|OK - Dog - Consolidated Dog Laws||11 Okl.St.Ann. § 22-115.1; 21 Okl.St.Ann. § 649.1 and 649.2; 21 Okl. St. Ann. § 1717 - 1718; 4 Okl.St.Ann. § 41 - 47; 391 - 402; 499 - 499.10; 501 - 602; 29 Okl. St. Ann. § 7-304; 70 Okl.St.Ann. § 5-117.6||
These statutes comprise Oklahoma's dog laws. Among the provisions include dog control laws, sterilization provisions for adopted animals, and the use of unclaimed animals in scientific research or experimentation.
|OK - Dog bite - Oklahoma Dog Bite Laws||4 Okl. St. Ann. § 41 - 47||
These statutes comprise Oklahoma's Dangerous Dog Laws. The state imposes strict liability for dog bites; "the owner or owners of any dog shall be liable for damages to the full amount of any damages sustained when his dog, without provocation, bites or injures any person while such person is in or on a place where he has a lawful right to be." Further, any person may lawfully kill a dog who is chasing that person's livestock. An owner of a dog that has been adjudged "dangerous" must register the dog, enclose the dog except when out on a leash with muzzle, and post $50,000 in liability insurance. An owner who does not follow the provisions not only faces the confiscation of his or her dog, but may also be subject to a one-year misdemeanor.
|OK - Dog, therapy - § 2611.12. Support person or therapeutic dog||12 Okl.St.Ann. § 2611.12||
This Oklahoma statue was enacted by the state legislature to provide emotional support for a child witness, a child thirteen years of age or younger, in a criminal proceeding. The statute allows for a child witness to be accompanied by a support person while giving testimony. Additionally, the child witness is able to have a certified therapeutic dog accompanied by the handler in lieu of a support person. Under the statute, a certified therapeutic dog is a dog which has received requisite training and certification from the organizations listed in the statute.
|OK - Domestic Violence - § 60.2. Protective order--Petition--Complaint requirement for certain stalking victims--Fees||22 Okl. St. Ann. § 60.2||
This Oklahoma law reflects the state's provision for protective orders in cases of domestic abuse. The person seeking a protective order may further request the exclusive care, possession, or control of any animal owned, possessed, leased, kept, or held by either the petitioner, defendant or minor child residing in the residence of the petitioner or defendant. The court may order the defendant to make no contact with the animal and forbid the defendant from taking, transferring, encumbering, concealing, molesting, attacking, striking, threatening, harming, or otherwise disposing of the animal.
|OK - Ecoterrorism - G-1. Farm Animal, Crop, and Research Facilities Protection Act||2 Okl. St. Ann. § 5-103 to 106||
This article is known as the “Oklahoma Farm Animal, Crop, and Research Facilities Protection Act." A person commits an offense if, without the consent of the owner, the person acquires or otherwise exercises control over an animal facility, an animal from an animal facility, or other property from an animal facility with the intent to deprive the owner of such facility, animal, or property and to disrupt or damage the enterprise conducted at the animal facility. Violation is a felony and results in a fine of up to $10,000 and/or 3 years imprisonment.
|OK - Endangered Species - Part 4. Protected Game||29 Okl. St. Ann. 5-402, 412, 412.1; 29 Okl. St. Ann. § 2-109, 135||
Under Oklahoma law, no person may possess, hunt, chase, harass, capture, shoot at, wound or kill, take or attempt to take, trap or attempt to trap any endangered or threatened species or subspecies without specific written permission of the Director. Violation incurs a $100 - 1,000 penalty with up to 30 days in jail.
|OK - Equine Activity Liability - Title 76. Torts. Livestock Activities Liability Limitation Act.||76 Okl. St. Ann. § 50.1 - 50.4||
The Oklahoma Livestock Activities Liability Limitation Act provides that it is the intent of the Oklahoma Legislature to encourage livestock activities by limiting the civil liability of livestock activities sponsors, participants and livestock professionals involved in such activities. A livestock activity sponsor, a participant or a livestock professional acting in good faith and pursuant to the standards of the livestock industry shall not be liable for injuries to any person engaged in livestock activities when such injuries result from the inherent risks of livestock activities. Oklahoma also has a unique provision that explicitly states that two or more persons may agree, in writing, to extend the waiver of liability pursuant to the provisions of the Oklahoma Livestock Activities Liability Limitation Act.
|OK - Exotic - § 7-801. Exotic wildlife--Penalties for releasing||29 Okl. St. Ann. § 7-801||
No exotic wildlife may be released into the wilds of Oklahoma without first obtaining written permission of the Director. Violation is a misdemeanor punishable of a fine of $100 to $2000, and/or imprisonment up to 30 days.
|OK - Exotic pet - § 4-107. Commercial wildlife breeder's license; § 4-107.1. Circuses--Application of act||29 Okl. St. Ann. § 4-107, 4-107.1||
This Oklahoma statute states that no person may breed, possess or raise native wildlife, except fish, amphibians, aquatic reptiles, aquatic invertebrates or exotic livestock, for commercial purposes without first obtaining a commercial wildlife breeder's license from the Director. Further, no person licensed with a commercial wildlife breeder's license may sell native cats or bears to any person who does not possess a commercial wildlife breeder's license. The initial and annual fee for such a license is $48 for a resident. Violation of any provision of this section results in a fine of not less than $500.00 and, if applicable, revocation of the wildlife license. Circuses are exempted from this provision.
|OK - Fur/Trapping - Part 5. Trapping||29 Okl. St. Ann. § 5-501 - 504||
Under these Oklahoma statutes, no person may trap on the land of another without a written permit. Only certain traps are allowed and traps must be tended once every 24 hours. A conviction is punished by a fine of $25-200. All persons engaged in the business of buying raw pelts must keep a daily register. A conviction is punished by a fine of $10-$50.
|OK - Game Animals - Part 4. Protected Game. § 5-410. Hawks; falcons; owls; eagles||29 Okl. St. Ann. § 5-410||
Oklahoma law prohibits the knowing and willful killing or molestation of hawks, falcons, owls, or eagles, or their nests, eggs, or young. The only exceptions to this prohibition are the taking of a hawk or owl in the act of destroying domestic birds or fowl, or the use of hawks, owls, falcons, or eagles by licensed falconers.
|OK - Horse - § 6-192. Horse meat||2 Okl. St. Ann. § 6-192, § 6-207||
It shall be unlawful for any person to sell, offer or exhibit for sale, or have in his or her possession with intent to sell, any quantity of horsemeat for human consumption in Oklahoma.
|OK - Hunting - § 5-212. Obstruction of shooting, hunting, fishing and trapping prohibited--Landowner's rights--Penalties--Exempt||29 Okl. St. Ann. § 5-212||
This law reflects Oklahoma's hunter harassment provision. Under the law, a person may not willfully obstruct or impede the participation of any individual in the lawful activity of shooting, hunting, fishing or trapping in this state. Violation is a misdemeanor with a fine of $100 to $500. A person convicted under this section is also liable to the person affected for all costs and damages resulting from the interference.
|OK - Impound - § 394. Delivery of animals on demand--Municipal ordinances relating to impoundment and scientific research||4 Okl. St. Ann. § 394||This Oklahoma statute provides that, except as otherwise provided by municipal ordinance, it shall be the duty of the pound supervisor to deliver available impounded animals to licensed research facilities unless excepted by statute. Only dogs that have been impounded for a minimum of 15 days for a unlicensed dogs and 30 days days for licensed dogs and those dogs that were not voluntarily impounded by their owners on condition that they not be used for scientific research may be given to institutions.|
|OK - Initiative - State Question 687/Initiative Petition 365 (Ban Cockfighting)||State Question 687/Initiative Petition 365 (Ban Cockfighting)||This petition makes it a felony to instigate or encourage cockfighting, possess or train birds for cockfighting, or maintain a facility for cockfighting in the state of Oklahoma. The ballot proposal also makes it a misdemeanor to knowingly be a spectator at a cockfight. It passed in 2002 with 56% of the vote.|
|OK - Initiative - State Question No. 742 (2008) (Constitutional Right to Hunt)||State Question No. 742 (2008) (Constitutional Right to Hunt)||Oklahoma Question 742 would add a new section to the State Constitution. It gives all people of this state the right to hunt, trap, fish and take game and fish. Such activities would be subject to reasonable regulation. It allows the Wildlife Conservation Commission to approve methods and procedures for hunting, trapping, fishing and taking of game and fish. It allows for taking game and fish by traditional means, and makes hunting, fishing, and trapping the preferred means to manage certain game and fish. The measure was approved by a margin of 80% to 20%.|
|OK - Leash - § 2217. Public access and use of state parks--Prohibitions (dog leash)||74 Okl.St.Ann. § 2217||
No person may enter a state park with a dog, unless the dog is on a leash, or permit any dog to enter a state park or recreation area under the jurisdiction of the Commission. It is further provided that any authorized member of the Department or any authorized employee of the Oklahoma Department of Wildlife Conservation may kill any vicious dog found running loose in any state park which poses imminent threat to humans or other animals, or which may be chasing or running any game in the state park. Any such authorized employees of the Departments shall not be held liable for the killing of said dog,
|OK - Licenses - § 22-115. Animals running at large--Regulation and taxation||11 Okl. St. Ann. § 22-115 to 115.1||
This Oklahoma statute provides that the municipal governing body may regulate or prohibit animals from running at large. The governing body may also regulate and provide for taxing the owners and harborers of dogs, and authorize the killing of dogs which are found at large in violation of any ordinance regulating the same.
|OK - Liens - § 193 to 201.11. Liens for Feeding, Grazing, Herding and Breeding.||4 Okl.St.Ann. § 193 to 201.11||
This Oklahoma statute provides the requirements for obtaining a lien when employed in the feeding, grazing, or herding of any domestic animals within the state. The statute also describes both lawful and unlawful ways to use the lien once it is obtained.
|OK - Lost Property - Chapter 11. Bailments. Finders of Lost Goods.||15 Okl. St. Ann. § 511 - 518||
These statutes comprise Oklahoma's lost property provisions.
|OK - Ordinances - § 43. Counties over 200,000 population--Regulation and control of dogs running at large--Penalties||4 Okl. St. Ann. § 43||This Oklahoma statute provides that the board of county commissioners of any county with a population of two hundred thousand (200,000) or more may regulate or prohibit the running at large of dogs and may impound and dispose of such dogs. The board of county commissioners may also regulate and provide for taxing the owners and harborers of dogs, and authorize the humane killing or disposal of dogs, found at large, contrary to any ordinance regulating the same. Any person, firm or corporation who violates any rule or regulation made by such board of county commissioners under the authority of this act shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished as provided by the laws of this state.|
|OK - Police and Dogs - § 36.1. Police dog handlers--Civil liability||22 Okl.St.Ann. § 36.1||
This Oklahoma statute deals with the civil liability of police dog handlers. Under the statute, a police dog handler who uses a dog in the line of duty in accordance with the policies and standards established by the law enforcement agency that employs the officer, will not be civilly liable for any damages arising from the use of the dog. The police dog handler may only be liable for exceptions listed in the Governmental Tort Claims Act.
|OK - Property - § 1717. Dog as personal property||21 Okl. St. Ann. § 1717||
Dogs are considered personal property in Oklahoma.
|OK - Research - Chapter 13. Use of Unclaimed Animals for Scientific Investigation and Education.||4 Okl. St. Ann. § 391 - 402||
These Oklahoma statutes provide the rules for scientific or medical research facilities that use animals obtained from animal shelters or dog pounds. Among the provisions are licensing procedures, inspection requirements, municipal ordinance requirements relating to duration that animals must first be impounded, and a provision specifying that anyone who fails to undertake the duties required by the act is subject to a misdemeanor. Notably, a municipality must provide that an owner of an animal who voluntarily delivers it to a public pound has the right to specify that it not be used for scientific research; it shall be the duty of the pound superintendent to tag such animal properly and to make certain that such animal is not delivered to an institution for scientific purposes. However, institution is immune from liability resulting from an improper delivery to such an institution.
|OK - Trust - § 199. Validity of a trust for the care of domestic or pet animals.||60 Okl. St. Ann. § 199||Oklahoma enacted a "pet trust" law in 2010. The law provides that a trust for the care of designated domestic or pet animals is valid and terminates when no living animal is covered by the trust. If no trustee is named, the court shall appoint one.|
|OK - Veterinary - Chapter 15. Oklahoma Veterinary Practice Act.||59 Okl. St. Ann. § 698.1 - 33||
These are the state's veterinary practice laws. Among the provisions include licensing requirements, laws concerning the state veterinary board, veterinary records laws, and the laws governing disciplinary actions for impaired or incompetent practitioners.
|OK - Wildlife - Part 5. Possession of Wildlife.||29 Okl.St.Ann. § 7-501 - 504||Under these Oklahoma statutes, no person may possess any wildlife or parts thereof during the closed season, any endangered or threatened species or parts thereof at any time, or any native bear or native cat that will grow to reach the weight of 50 lbs. or more, with exceptions. A conviction could result in a fine of $100-$500 and/or by imprisonment up to 30 days. In addition, no person may buy, barter, trade, or sell all or any part of any fish or wildlife or the nest or eggs of any bird protected by law, with exceptions. A first violation could result in a fine of $100 to $500 and/or by imprisonment up to 60 days.|
|OK - Wildlife - Part 6. Transportation of Wildlife||29 Okl.St.Ann. § 7-601 - 602||
Under these Oklahoma statutes, no common carrier may transport any wildlife or endangered or rare species, with exceptions. A violation could result in a fine of $25 to $100. In addition, no person may transport into or out of Oklahoma any wildlife or parts thereof, nests of wildlife, their eggs or their young, or any endangered or threatened species, with exceptions. A violation could result in a fine of $50 to $200, and/or imprisonment of 10 to 60 days.