Full Statute Name:  Oklahoma Statutes Annotated. Title 29. Game and Fish. Chapter 1. Oklahoma Wildlife Conservation Code. Article V. Game. Part 6. Wildlife Breeders' Organizational Details. § 5-601. Wildlife breeders' sale and transportation of wildlife; tags for selling; invoices; records.

Share |
Primary Citation:  29 Okl. St. Ann. § 5-601 Country of Origin:  United States Last Checked:  January, 2020 Alternate Citation:  OK ST T. 29 § 5-601 Date Adopted:  1974 Historical: 
Summary: This Oklahoma statute permits all licensed wildlife breeders to sell and transport any live wildlife for propagation purposes as well as to sell and transport live or dead wildlife for food upon compliance with certain requirements.

A. All licensed wildlife breeders may sell and transport any live wildlife for propagation purposes, may sell and transport minnows for bait if such are lawfully possessed or raised pursuant to this Code, and may sell and transport any live or dead wildlife for food upon compliance with the hereinafter set forth subsections.

B. All wildlife sold for food must be tagged with a metal tag to be supplied by the Department at reasonable prices, such tag to contain such information as the Director may require.

C. All tags shall remain attached to the individual animal, bird or fish until prepared for the consumer and may not be used more than once.

D. The breeder must keep permanent records for up to five (5) years on all wildlife sold and raised and1 shall contain:

1. The kind and number of species sold, killed, given away, transported or shipped;

2. The name and address of the recipient or consignee; and

3. The date of the transaction.

E. Such records shall be available for inspection at all reasonable times by authorized representatives of the Department.

F. All wildlife dealers may retain their wildlife for a period of up to one hundred twenty (120) days after their licenses expire.

G. Any person convicted of violating any of the provisions of this section shall be punished by a fine of not less than Fifty Dollars ($50.00) nor more than Two Hundred Dollars ($200.00).

Credits

Laws 1974, c. 17, § 5-601, eff. April 8, 1974.

Share |