United States

Displaying 4031 - 4040 of 4265
Titlesort descending Summary
VT - Fur - Chapter 173. Domestic Fur-Bearing Animals


Note: §§3071 to 3073. Repealed by 2015, No. 61, § 13, eff. June 17, 2015. Under these Vermont statutes, the owner of domestic fur-bearing animals enjoy the same property rights as any other domestic animal. No one may enter the enclosure of, or knowingly and wilfully kill, trap, or injure a fur-bearing animal without permission from the owner. A violation may result in a fine of up to $200 and/or imprisonment up to six months.

VT - Humane Slaughter - Humane Slaughter of Livestock


These statutes comprise Vermont's humane slaughter provisions.  The law requires the humane slaughter of all commercial livestock with a "humane method" defined as a method whereby the animal is rendered insensible to pain by mechanical, electrical, chemical or other means that is rapid and effective before being shackled, hoisted, thrown, cast or cut (with exemptions for religious ritual slaughter).  A person who violates this chapter shall be fined not more than $100.00 nor less than $50.00 or imprisoned not more than ninety days, or both, and in addition, the secretary may seek an injunction against a slaughterer.

VT - Hunting - § 4714. Importation and possession of animals for hunting


This Vermont law states that a person shall not import or possess any live animal for the purpose of taking by hunting, unless the commissioner has issued the person an importation and possession permit.

VT - Hunting - § 4502 Uniform point system; revocation of license.
Vermont


has a point system for hunting licenses similar to that used for driver's licenses.

 

Certain enumerated violations, including taking bear or deer with dogs, earn points which can result in the suspension or revocation of a hunting license.

  

A game warden may shoot a dog who is pursuing a deer or moose close enough to endanger its life, or a fine may be issued.
VT - Hunting - § 4708. Interference with hunting, fishing or trapping


This Vermont law reflects the state's hunter harassment provision. The law states that a person shall not intentionally interfere with the lawful taking of fish or wild animals. This includes things like tampering with traps, nets, baits, or firearms; by placing himself or herself in a position, for the purpose of interfering, that hinders or prevents hunting, trapping, or fishing; or by engaging in an activity, for the purpose of interfering, that drives, harasses, disturbs, or is likely to disturb wildlife or fish.

VT - Hunting - § 4715. Remote-control hunting


This Vermont statute prevents remote-control hunting. No one may take a wild or captive animal using a remote-control hunting device if the person is in Vermont. No person shall establish or operate a remote-control hunting site in Vermont, or import, export, or possess a wild or captive animal to be taken by a remote-control hunting device.

VT - Impound - Sub Chapter 2. Pounds and Impounds.


The following Vermont statutes require that each organized Vermont town maintain a pound or else the town will be fined $30.00. The statutes also provide provisions for impounding an animal, retrieving an impounded animal, failing to retrieve an impounded animal, and assessing damages of an impounded animal, amongst other topics.

VT - Kennels - Rule 300. Animal Welfare Regulations


These Vermont regulations for animal welfare set out the requirements kennels, pet stores and other animal facilities must follow in order to ensure the safe handling, care, treatment and transportation of animals is met. Precisely, the following regulations include: provisions regarding registration and licensing periods; government inspections; and specific instructions for the housing and care of cats and dogs.

VT - Lien - § 2075. Lien for keeping or pasturing animals A person to whom charges are due for pasturing, boarding, or keeping domestic animals placed with the consent of the owner thereof in his or her care, if the charges become due while such animals remain in his or her possession, may retain the same until such charges are paid. After 30 days when the charges are due, he or she may sell the animals in the manner provided for the sale of property under a lien for repairs, if such charges remain unpaid.
VT - Lost dog - Article 2. Killing Unlicensed Dogs; Subchapter 5. Control of Rabies


These Vermont statute provide the law for seizure, confinement of, and destruction of dogs and domestic wolf-hybrids.  It also includes a warrant form necessary for local authorities to seize and impound an offending dog or wolf-hybrid.

Pages