Veterinarian Issues: Related Statutes

Statute by category Citationsort descending Summary
NY - Veterinary - Article 135. Veterinary Medicine and Animal Health Technology. McKinney's Education Law § 6700 - 6714 These are the state's veterinary practice laws. Among the provisions include licensing requirements, laws concerning the state veterinary board, veterinary records laws, and the laws governing disciplinary actions for impaired or incompetent practitioners.
NY - Police dog - § 122-c. Transport of police work dogs injured in the line of duty McKinney's General Municipal Law § 122-c This New York law from 2015 states that an emergency medical service paramedic or emergency medical service technician may transport any police work dog injured in the line of duty to a veterinary clinic or similar such facility provided, however, that there are no persons requiring medical attention or transport at such time.
MI - Veterinary - Chapter 333. Health. Public Health Code MCLA 333.18801 - 18838 These are the state's veterinary practice laws. Among the provisions include licensing requirements, laws concerning the state veterinary board, veterinary records laws, and the laws governing disciplinary actions for impaired or incompetent practitioners.
MD - Veterinary - State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners. MD Code, Agriculture, § 2-301 - 316 These are the state's veterinary practice laws. Among the provisions include licensing requirements, laws concerning the state veterinary board, veterinary records laws, and the laws governing disciplinary actions for impaired or incompetent practitioners.
MD - Lien - § 16-701. Veterinarian's rights MD Code, Commercial Law, § 16-701 This Maryland law is the state's veterinary lien law. Notice for services rendered by a qualified veterinarian or commercial boarding kennel operator may be given in person, by registered or certified mail or, if the owner's address is unknown, by posting the notice for 10 days on the door of the courthouse or on a bulletin board in the immediate vicinity of the courthouse of the county where the animal is located. If the animal is not claimed and taken by the owner within 10 days of the date the notice is given or posted, the owner forfeits his title to the animal.
MD - Emergency - § 5-614. Veterinary aid, care or assistance MD Code, Courts and Judicial Proceedings, § 5-614 This Maryland law provides that certain individuals including veterinarians, licensed medical providers, first responders, volunteer fire fighters, and designated local government employees who are responding to a call in the community are not civilly liable for any act or omission in giving any veterinary aid, care, or assistance to an animal where the owner or custodian of the animal is not available to grant permission. Certain requirements must be met per subsection (b) for immunity from civil liability.
MD - Immunity - § 5-614. Veterinary aid, care or assistance MD Code, Courts and Judicial Proceedings, § 5-614 This law gives immunity to certain licensed professionals including veterinarians, medical care licensees, first responders, and certain local government employees for providing veterinary aid, care, or assistance (without a charging a fee) to animals at the scene of an emergency or in transit to a veterinary facility. The listed persons under the statute are not civilly liable for any act or omission in giving any veterinary aid, care, or assistance to an animal where the owner or custodian of the animal is not available to grant permission.
MD - Police animals - § 3-526. Funding for veterinary treatment for retired law enforcement dogs MD Code, Public Safety, § 3-526 This law enacted in 2021 provides that a State or local law enforcement agency that removes from duty a dog used in law enforcement work shall reimburse an individual who, under a written agreement with the law enforcement agency, takes possession of the dog on or after October 1, 2020, for reasonable and necessary veterinary treatment provided to the dog. Public donations may be accepted and distributed to the K-9 Compassionate Care Fund. Reimbursement may be only for usual and customary veterinary treatment that is not attributable to abuse or neglect of the dog. Costs may not exceed $2,500 during a calendar year and $10,000 over the life of the dog.
MD - Liens - § 16-401. Lien for care or custody Md. Code Ann., Com. Law § 16-401 Under Maryland law, any person who owns or operates a livery stable or other establishment who gives care or custody to livestock will have a lien on the livestock for any reasonable charge relating to: board and custody, training, veterinarian and blacksmith service, and other maintenance expenses. If the lien is not paid within 30 days after payment is due, the owner of the livery stable is entitled to sell the livestock.
MS - Dog, police - § 41-59-35. Duration of EMT certificate; transport of injured police dog; Miss. Code Ann. § 41-59-35 This law covers certification of emergency medical technicians. In 2018, the law was amended to allow an EMT, EMT-A, EMR, or Paramedic to transport a police dog injured in the line of duty to a veterinary clinic, hospital emergency department or similar facility if there are no persons requiring medical attention or transport at that time. Under this subsection, “police dog” means a dog owned or used by a law enforcement department or agency in the course of the department or agency's work, including a search and rescue dog, service dog, accelerant detection canine, or other dog that is in use by a county, municipal, or state law enforcement agency.
MS - Veterinary - Chapter 39. Veterinarians. Miss. Code Ann. § 73-39-51 to 73-39- 95 These are the state's veterinary practice laws. Among the provisions include licensing requirements, laws concerning the state veterinary board, veterinary records laws, and the laws governing disciplinary actions for impaired or incompetent practitioners.
MS - Veterinarian License - Chapter 39. Veterinarians. Mississippi Veterinary Practice Act. Miss. Code Ann. § 73-39-77 This Mississippi statutes provides the terms under which a veterinarian can lose his or her license to practice veterinary medicine.
NJ - Lien, horse stable - 2A:44-51. Right of lien; retention of property when amount due unpaid N. J. S. A. 2A:44-51 - 52 This New Jersey law relates to liens on those who keep horses. The law states that every keeper of a livery stable or boarding and exchange stable shall have a lien on all animals left in livery, for board, sale or exchange (and upon all carriages, wagons, sleighs and harness left for storage, sale or exchange) for the amount due for the board and keep of such animal. The keeper has the right, without process of law, to retain the same until the amount of such indebtedness is discharged. Note that the law states “keeper of a livery stable” shall include, but need not be limited to, a proprietor of a stable, a trainer, a veterinarian, a farrier, or any other person who has a financial relationship with the owner of the horse.
NV - Veterinary - Chapter 638. Veterinarians. General Provisions. N. R. S. 638.001 - 638.200 These are the state's veterinary practice laws. Among the provisions include licensing requirements, laws concerning the state veterinary board, veterinary records laws, and the laws governing disciplinary actions for impaired or incompetent practitioners.
NC - Veterinary - Article 11. Veterinarians. N.C.G.S.A. § 90-179 to 187.16 These are the state's veterinary practice laws. Among the provisions include licensing requirements, laws concerning the state veterinary board, veterinary records laws, and the laws governing disciplinary actions for impaired or incompetent practitioners.
NC - Lien - Chapter 90. Medicine and Allied Occupations. N.C.G.S.A. § 90-187.7 This North Carolina statute provides that any animal placed in the custody of a licensed veterinarian for treatment, boarding or other care, unclaimed by its owner for a period of more than 10 days after written notice by registered or certified mail, shall be deemed to be abandoned and may be turned over to the nearest humane society, or dog pound or disposed of as such custodian may deem proper. The giving of proper notice relieves such custodian of liability resulting from the disposal.
NC - Malpractice - Chapter 90. Medicine and Allied Occupations. N.C.G.S.A. § 90-21.12 This North Carolina statute provides the standard of health care in actions for damages for personal injury or death arising out of medical-based malpractice. Under the statute, the plaintiff must prove by the greater weight of the evidence that the health care provider’s actions fell below the standards of practice of other health care professionals similarly trained and situated in the same or similar communities.
NH - Veterinary - Chapter 332-B. New Hampshire Veterinary Practice Act. N.H. Rev. Stat. § 332-B:1 - 332-B:20 These are the state's veterinary practice laws. Among the provisions include licensing requirements, laws concerning the state veterinary board, veterinary records laws, and the laws governing disciplinary actions for impaired or incompetent practitioners.
NV - Damages, pet - 41.740. Damages for which person who kills or injures pet N.R.S. 41.740 This Nevada law provides that if a "natural person" intentionally, willfully, recklessly or negligently injures or kills the pet of another natural person, the person is liable for (a) the cost of veterinary care incurred because of the injury or death of the pet; (b) any reduction in market value of the pet caused by the injury; (c) the market value and reasonable burial expenses if the pet is killed; and (d) reasonable attorney's fees and costs incurred in bringing an action under this section. All the damages must not exceed $5,000 per pet. There are several exceptions under the law. A pet is defined as any domesticated dog or cat normally maintained in or near the household of its owner.
ND - Veterinary - Chapter 43-29. Veterinarians NDCC 43-29-01 to 19; 43-29.1-01 - 08 These are the state's veterinary practice laws. Among the provisions include licensing requirements, laws concerning the state veterinary board, veterinary records laws, and the laws governing disciplinary actions for impaired or incompetent practitioners.
NE - Lien, veterinary - Article 7. Veterinarian's Lien. Neb. Rev. St. § 52-701 - 702 These Nebraska laws provide the state's veterinary lien provisions, which concern only liens on livestock animals. Under Section 52-701, a licensed veterinarian who is contracted or hired to treat or in any way take care of any kind of livestock has a lien on that livestock for the reasonable value of services and medicines provided. This lien is treated as an agricultural lien under the UCC and may be enforced in the manner of other secured transactions in article 9 of the UCC. The lien must be perfected as provided under article 9 with the information outlined in this law.
NE - Veterinary - Article 33. Veterinary Medicine and Surgery Practice Act Neb.Rev.St. § 38-3301 to 38- 3335 These are the state's veterinary practice laws. Among the provisions include licensing requirements, laws concerning the state veterinary board, veterinary records laws, and the laws governing disciplinary actions for impaired or incompetent practitioners.
NJ - Veterinary - Chapter 16. Veterinary Medicine, Surgery and Dentistry. NJSA 45:16-1 to 45:16-18 These are the state's veterinary practice laws. Among the provisions include licensing requirements, laws concerning the state veterinary board, veterinary records laws, and the laws governing disciplinary actions for impaired or incompetent practitioners.
NM - Veterinary - Article 14. Veterinary Practice Act. NMSA 1978, § 61-14-1 to 61-14-20 These are the state's veterinary practice laws. Among the provisions include licensing requirements, laws concerning the state veterinary board, veterinary records laws, and the laws governing disciplinary actions for impaired or incompetent practitioners.
NM - Impound - Chapter 77. Animals and Livestock. NMSA 1978, § 77-1-17 This New Mexico statute provides that the owner or operator of a veterinary clinic or hospital, a doctor of veterinary medicine, a kennel, grooming parlor or other animal care facility is not liable for disposing of abandoned animals after proper notice has been sent to the owner of record.
NY - Police Dog - § 122-c. Transport of police work dogs injured in the line of duty NY GEN MUN § 122-c This New York statutes allows for paramedics or emergency medical service technicians to transport any police work dog that is injured in the line of duty to a veterinary clinic if there are no persons requiring medical attention or transport at such time.
OR - Veterinary - Chapter 686. Veterinarians; Veterinary Technicians. O. R. S. § 686.010 - 990 These are the state's veterinary practice laws. Among the provisions include licensing requirements, laws concerning the state veterinary board, veterinary records laws, and the laws governing disciplinary actions for impaired or incompetent practitioners.
OR - Animal Definitions - Chapter 87. Statutory Liens. Liens Generally. 87.142. Definitions O. R. S. § 87.142 This is Oregon's statutory definitions for Animal Statutes.
OH - Lien, care - 1311.48 Lien for care of animals R.C. § 1311.48 - 54 This Ohio law states that any person who feeds or boards an animal under contract with the owner shall have a lien on such animal to secure payment for food and board furnished.
OH - Veterinary - Chapter 4741. Veterinarians. R.C. § 4741.01 - 4741.99 These are the state's veterinary practice laws. Among the provisions include licensing requirements, laws concerning the state veterinary board, veterinary records laws, and the laws governing disciplinary actions for impaired or incompetent practitioners.
OH - Emergency - 4765.52 Provision of emergency medical services to dog or cat R.C. § 4765.52 This Ohio statute specifies the emergency treatment that a medical technician or first responder could provide, prior to a dog or cat being transferred to a veterinarian for further treatment. The statute also highlights the immunities that medical responders, directors, and emergency medical service organizations have under the statute, unless they engage in an act or omission while providing medical services to a dog or cat, that constitutes willful or wanton misconduct. The statute also makes clear that a veterinarian who acts in good faith is not liable for any act or omission that occurred prior to the veterinarian providing services to the cat or dog.
SD - Veterinary - Chapter 36-12. Veterinarians. S D C L § 36-12-1 - 29 These are the state's veterinary practice laws. Among the provisions include licensing requirements, laws concerning the state veterinary board, veterinary records laws, and the laws governing disciplinary actions for impaired or incompetent practitioners.
TN - Expert - § 29-26-115. Burden of proof; expert witnesses T. C. A. § 29-26-115 This Tennessee statute provides the requirements for the claimant's burden of proof under malpractice actions, including, inter alia, the proof that the defendant's actions fell below the recognized standard of acceptable professional practice in the community, proximate cause, and proof by a preponderance of the evidence that defendant's actions were negligent.
TN - Disaster - Part 8. Uniform Emergency Volunteer Health Practitioners Act of 2007 T. C. A. § 58-2-801 - 813 The Tennessee Uniform Emergency Volunteer Health Practitioners Act applies to registered volunteer health practitioners who provide health services for a host entity during an emergency. Volunteer health practitioners are not liable for their acts or omissions in providing health services. Health services means treatment, care, advice, guidance, or provision of supplies related to the health or death of an animal or to animal populations.
TN - Veterinary - Chapter 12. Veterinarians. T. C. A. § 63-12-101 - 146; T. C. A. § 63-12-201 - 204 These are the state's veterinary practice laws. Among the provisions include licensing requirements, laws concerning the state veterinary board, veterinary records laws, and the laws governing disciplinary actions for impaired or incompetent practitioners.
TN - Liens, Veterinary - § 63-12-134. Liens and incumbrances. T. C. A. § 63-12-134 This statute specifically allow vets to hold an animal until a bill is paid for treatment, board or care of an animal.
UT - Veterinary - Chapter 28. Veterinary Practice Act. U.C.A. 1953 § 58-28-101 - 606 These are the state's veterinary practice laws. Among the provisions include licensing requirements, laws concerning the state veterinary board, veterinary records laws, and the laws governing disciplinary actions for impaired or incompetent practitioners.
UT - Abandonment - § 58-28-601. Animal abandonment U.C.A. 1953 § 58-28-601 This Utah statute provides that any animal abandoned at a veterinarian's office for a period of ten days may be sold or placed in the custody of the nearest humane society or county dog pound after giving notice to the owner. If no humane society or dog pound is located in the county, the animal may be disposed of in a humane manner.
MO - Veterinary - Chapter 340. Veterinarians. V. A. M. S. 340.010 - 405 These are the state's veterinary practice laws. Among the provisions include licensing requirements, laws concerning the state veterinary board, veterinary records laws, and the laws governing disciplinary actions for impaired or incompetent practitioners.
MO - Lien, care and board - Chapter 430. Liens for Keeping, Training and Breeding Animals V. A. M. S. 430.150 - 220 This chapter of Missouri laws concerns liens for the keeping, training, and breeding of animals. Section 430.150 states that every person who keeps, boards or trains any horse, mule or other animal has a lien on such animal, and on any vehicle, harness or equipment that came with the animal, for the amount due. No owner or claimant has the right to take any such property out of the custody of the person having such lien, except with the lienholder's consent or on the payment of such debt. Section 430.160 outlines the procedure for enforcement of the lien, which includes where to file a claim and the notice requirements.
TX - Veterinary - Chapter 801. Veterinarians. V. T. C. A., Occupations Code § 801.001 - 557 These are the state's veterinary practice laws. Among the provisions include licensing requirements, laws concerning the state veterinary board, veterinary records laws, and the laws governing disciplinary actions for impaired or incompetent practitioners.
TX - Lien, veterinary - § 70.010. Liens for Veterinary Care Charges for Large Animals V. T. C. A., Property Code § 70.010 This Texas law relates to veterinary liens for large animals, defined as livestock or a cow, horse, mule, ass, sheep, goat, llama, alpaca, farm elk, or hog. The term does not include a common household pet such as a cat or dog. A licensed veterinarian has a lien on a large animal and the proceeds from the disposition of the large animal to secure the cost of veterinary care the veterinarian provided to the large animal. The lien attaches on the 20th day after the veterinarian first provided care to the large animal and attaches regardless of whether the veterinarian retains possession of the animal.
VA - Veterinary - Chapter 38. Veterinary Medicine. Va. Code Ann. § 54.1-3800 - 3813 These are the state's veterinary practice laws. Among the provisions include licensing requirements, laws concerning the state veterinary board, veterinary records laws, and the laws governing disciplinary actions for impaired or incompetent practitioners.\
WY - Impound - § 33-30-215. Disposition of unclaimed animals in custody of veterinarians; W. S. 1977 § 33-30-215 This Wyoming statute states that any animal placed in the custody of a licensed veterinarian for treatment, boarding, or other care, which is then unclaimed by its owner for a period of more than ten days after written notice is given to the owner at his or her last known address, shall be deemed to be abandoned. It may then be turned over to the nearest humane society or dog pound in the area where it may be disposed of as the shelter sees fit.
WY - Veterinary - Chapter 30. Veterinarians W. S. 1977 §§ 33-30-201 to 225 These are the state's veterinary practice laws. Among the provisions include licensing requirements, laws concerning the state veterinary board, veterinary records laws, and the laws governing disciplinary actions for impaired or incompetent practitioners.
WV - Veterinary - Article 10. Veterinarians. W. Va. Code, § 30-10-1 to 23 These are the state's veterinary practice laws. Among the provisions include licensing requirements, laws concerning the state veterinary board, veterinary records laws, and the laws governing disciplinary actions for impaired or incompetent practitioners.
WV - Lien - § 38-11-4. Lien of bailee of animals or vehicles W. Va. Code, § 38-11-4 This West Virginia law (as it relates to animals) states the a person who keeps a livery stable, or boarding stable for animals, or one who boards, pastures, feeds or trains animals for hire, has a lien upon such animals for the sum due him for the care, boarding, pasturage, feeding, or training of such animals, or the care, keeping of such animals. This lien exists even though such animals are permitted to be taken out of the possession of the one claiming such lien even if the contract has not yet terminated for the lien. The purchaser of such an animal, while out of the possession of the person claiming the lien, can take the property free of the lien unless he or she had actual notice of the lien at the time of purchase.
WI - Veterinary - Chapter 89. Veterinary Examining Board W.S.A. 89.02 - .08 These are the state's veterinary practice laws. Among the provisions include licensing requirements, laws concerning the state veterinary board, veterinary records laws, and the laws governing disciplinary actions for impaired or incompetent practitioners.
CA - Veterinary - Chapter 11. Veterinary Medicine. West's Ann. Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § 4800 - 4917 These are the state's veterinary practice laws. Among the provisions include licensing requirements, laws concerning the state veterinary board, veterinary records laws, and the laws governing disciplinary actions for impaired or incompetent practitioners.
CA - Emergency - § 1797.10. Emergency medical transport for police dog; pilot project; West's Ann. Cal. Health & Safety Code § 1797.10, § 1799.109 These two statutes relate to emergency transportation and care of injured companion animals. Section § 1797.10 establishes a pilot project in the County of San Bernardino beginning on January 1, 2019. It authorizes emergency transportation for a police dog injured in the line of duty to a veterinary medical service provider. Several conditions must be met before transport such as that the canine handler remains responsible for any first aid rendered to the injured police dog during transport and that no person at the scene requires medical attention or medical transportation at the time the request for transport is made. The next law, § 1799.109, first makes legislative findings on the importance of dogs and cats to Californians and that some first responder agencies have been providing stabilizing, life-saving emergency care to dogs and cats, which violates the Veterinary Medicine Practice Act. This new law allows an emergency responder to provide basic first aid to dogs and cats to the extent that the provision of that care is not prohibited by the responder's employer. The responder is not subject to criminal prosecution under the prohibitions of the Veterinary Medicine Practice Act. Basic first aid includes things like administering oxygen, manually clearing an upper airway, controlling a hemorrhage with direct pressure, and bandaging to stop bleeding. This section does not impose a duty or obligation upon an emergency responder or any other person to transport or provide care to an injured pet or other domesticated animal during an emergency nor does it require emergency services through a 911 call for dogs or cats.

Pages