|CA - Crimes - § 597. Cruelty to animals||This statutes states that anyone who maliciously and intentionally maims, mutilates, tortures, or wounds a living animal, or maliciously and intentionally kills an animal, is guilty of an offense punishable by imprisonment in the state prison, or by a fine of not more than twenty thousand dollars ($ 20,000), or by both the fine and imprisonment, or, alternatively, by imprisonment in a county jail for not more than one year, or by a fine of not more than twenty thousand dollars ($ 20,000), or by both the fine and imprisonment. The statute also defines specific forms of torture and mistreatment that qualifies as a crime under this section.|
|CA - Crimes - § 597y. Violations; methods of killing; penalty||
A violation of Section 597u [Animals; prohibited killing methods] or 597v [Newborn dog or cat; methods of killing] is a misdemeanor.
|CA - Crimes, warrants - § 599a. Violations involving animals or birds; procedure||
If a complainant believes that any provision of law relating to, or in any way affecting, dumb animals or birds, is being, or is about to be violated in any particular building or place, a magistrate may issue and deliver immediately a warrant directed to law enforcement, authorizing him to enter and search that building or place, and to arrest any person there present violating, or attempting to violate, any law relating to, or in any way affecting, dumb animals or birds.
|CA - Cruelty - § 597.7. Animal endangerment; confinement in unattended motor vehicle; violations and penalties;||
This California statute provides that no person shall leave or confine an animal in any unattended motor vehicle under conditions that endanger the health or well-being of an animal due to heat, cold, lack of adequate ventilation, or lack of food or water, or other circumstances that could reasonably be expected to cause suffering, disability, or death to the animal. In 2016, rescue provisions were added that allows a person to remove an animal in danger from a vehicle provided he or she meets several criteria listed in the law. A first conviction for violation of this section is punishable by a fine not not exceeding $100 per animal. If the animal suffers great bodily injury, a violation of this section is punishable by a fine not exceeding $500, imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding six months, or by both a fine and imprisonment. Penalty enhancements are provided for subsequent convictions.
|CA - Cruelty - Consolidated Cruelty and Penal Code Sections||
These sections from the California Penal Code detail the crimes associated with animals, including anti-cruelty provisions, animal fighting statutes, unlawful killing methods, horse-specific laws, and a miscellaneous section containing provisions related to guide dogs, police dogs, bestiality, etc.
|CA - Cruelty - Part 11. Societies for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals||This section of California laws concerns the formation and powers of societies for the prevention of cruelty to animals.|
|CA - Cruelty - Part 9. Societies for Prevention of Cruelty to Children and Animals.||This set of statutes outlines the rights and responsibilities of corporations that are formed for the prevention of cruelty to animals.|
|CA - Cruelty - § 13012.8. Contents of annual report; violations of § 597||
This new law effective on January 1, 2017 requires the annual report published by the Department of Justice to include information concerning arrests for violations of Section 597 (the cruelty to animals provision).
|CA - Cruelty - § 286.5. Sexually assaulting animal; misdemeanor||This California law, amended in 2019, provides that every person who has sexual contact with an animal is guilty of a misdemeanor. Any authorized officer investigating a violation of this section may seize an animal that has been used in the commission of an offense to protect the health or safety of the animal or the health or safety of others, and to obtain evidence of the offense|
|CA - Cruelty - § 597.4. Selling or giving away live animals on any street, highway,||
This California statute makes is unlawful (with exceptions) to sell or give away, as part of a commercial transaction, a live animal on any street, highway, public right-of-way, parking lot, carnival, or boardwalk. The first violation is an infraction punishable by a fine up to $250. However, if the animal suffers, is injured, or its life or health is endangered, then the person is guilty of a misdemeanor.