Full Statute Name:  West's Annotated California Codes. Health and Safety Code. Division 20. Miscellaneous Health and Safety Provisions. Chapter 13.6. Wild or Domestic Animals in Traveling Circuses and Carnivals. § 25989.1. Notice to animal control services agency of performances to be conducted

Share |
Primary Citation:  CA HLTH & S § 25989.1 Country of Origin:  United States Last Checked:  August, 2015 Alternate Citation:  West's Ann. Cal. Health & Safety Code § 25989.1 Date Adopted:  1998
Summary:

This California section provides that any traveling circus or carnival must notify entity that provides animal control services for a city, county, or city and county in which the traveling circus or carnival intends to perform of its intent to perform within that jurisdiction at least 14 days prior to the first performance in that city, county, or city and county. Violation results in a fine of $500 - 2,000 for a first violation, and $1,500 - 5,000 for any subsequent violation.

Statute Text: 


(a) Any traveling circus or carnival that performs in this state shall do both of the following:

(1) Notify each entity that provides animal control services for a city, county, or city and county in which the traveling circus or carnival intends to perform of its intent to perform within that jurisdiction. Notice shall be given at least 14 days prior to the first performance in that city, county, or city and county.

(2) Provide each entity that provides animal control services for a city, county, or city and county in which the traveling circus or carnival intends to perform with a schedule of its performances in California.

(b) For the purposes of this chapter, “traveling circus or carnival” does not include any fair regulated under Chapter 4 (commencing with Section 19400) of Division 8 of the Business and Professions Code, or any rodeo, horse, or school event.

(c) Any violation of subdivision (a) shall be punishable by a fine of not less than five hundred dollars ($500) and not more than two thousand dollars ($2,000) for a first violation, and not less than one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500) and not more than five thousand dollars ($5,000) for any subsequent violation.

CREDIT(S)

(Added by Stats.1998, c. 579 (A.B.1635), § 2. Amended by Stats.1999, c. 83 (S.B.966), § 109.)

 

Share |