This law reflects West Virginia's hunter harassment provision. Under the law, a person may not willfully obstruct or impede the participation of any individual in the lawful activity of hunting, fishing or trapping. Violation is a misdemeanor with a fine of not less than $100 and not more than $500 or imprisonment for 10 - 100 days, or both. Subsequent violations within two years of any prior violation result in a fine of up to $1000 and imprisonment for up to one year, or both. A violator is also liable to the person for damages.
A person may not willfully obstruct or impede the participation of any individual in the lawful activity of hunting, fishing or trapping. Any person violating the provisions of this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined not less than one hundred dollars nor more than five hundred dollars or imprisoned in the county jail for not less than ten days nor more than one hundred days or both fined and imprisoned. Also, any person convicted of a subsequent violation of this section shall be fined not more than one thousand dollars or imprisoned in the county jail not more than one year or both fined and imprisoned. For the purpose of this section a subsequent violation is one which has occurred within two years of any prior violation of this section and which arises out of a separate set of circumstances. Any person convicted of any violation of this section shall be liable to the person, whom they interfered with, for all costs and damages resulting therefrom and if such offender holds a West Virginia hunting, fishing or trapping license at the time of conviction, such license shall be revoked.
Acts 1986, c. 125.