Full Statute Name:  West's General Laws of Rhode Island Annotated. Title 20. Fish and Wildlife. Chapter 13. Hunting and Hunting Safety. § 20-13-16. Harassment of hunters, trappers, and fishers prohibited

Share |
Primary Citation:  Gen. Laws, 1956, § 20-13-16 Country of Origin:  United States Last Checked:  November, 2014 Alternate Citation:  RI ST § 20-13-16 Date Adopted:  1994
Summary:

This law reflects Rhode Island's hunter harassment law. The law provides that no person shall obstruct or interfere with the lawful taking of wildlife by another person at the location where the activity is taking place with intent to prevent the lawful taking. The language states that the listed actions must be done intentionally or knowingly. Violation results in a "civil violation" with a forfeiture of not less than $100 nor more $500.

Statute Text: 


(a) No person shall obstruct or interfere with the lawful taking of wildlife by another person at the location where the activity is taking place with intent to prevent the lawful taking.

(b) A person violates this section when he or she intentionally or knowingly:

(1) Drives or disturbs wildlife for the purpose of disrupting the lawful taking of wildlife where another person is engaged in the process of lawfully taking wildlife;

(2) Blocks, impedes, or otherwise harasses another person who is engaged in the process of lawfully taking wildlife;

(3) Uses natural or artificial visual, aural, olfactory, or physical stimuli to affect wildlife behavior in order to hinder or prevent the lawful taking of wildlife;

(4) Erects barriers with the intent to deny ingress or egress to areas where the lawful taking of wildlife may occur;

(5) Interjects himself or herself into the line of fire;

(6) Affects the condition or placement of personal or public property intended for use in the lawful taking of wildlife in order to impair its usefulness or prevent its use; or

(7) Enters or remains upon private lands without the permission of the owner or the owner's agent, with intent to violate this section.

(c) A violation of this section is a civil violation for which a forfeiture of not less than one hundred dollars ($100) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500) may be adjudged.

CREDIT(S)

P.L. 1994, ch. 312, § 2; P.L. 1998, ch. 441, § 17.

 

Share |