These statutes comprise Oregon's lost property provisions.
(1) If any person finds money or goods valued at $250 or more, and if the owner of the money or goods is unknown, such person, within 10 days after the date of the finding, shall give notice of the finding in writing to the county clerk of the county in which the money or goods was found. Within 20 days after the date of the finding, the finder of the money or goods shall cause to be published in a newspaper of general circulation in the county a notice of the finding once each week for two consecutive weeks. Each such notice shall state the general description of the money or goods found, the name and address of the finder and final date before which such goods may be claimed.
(2) If no person appears and establishes ownership of the money or goods prior to the expiration of three months after the date of the notice to the county clerk under subsection (1) of this section, the finder shall be the owner of the money or goods.
Laws 1973, c. 642, § 1; Laws 1989, c. 522, § 1; Laws 2013, c. 220, § 1, eff. Jan. 1, 2014.
If any person who finds money or goods valued at $250 or more fails to comply with ORS 98.005, the person shall be liable, upon conviction for violation of ORS 164.065, to the county for the money or goods or the full value of the money or goods. The county treasurer shall hold the money or goods or their value for owner thereof and shall publish notice of the finding of the money or goods in the manner provided in ORS 98.005. If the owner has not reclaimed such money or goods within three months after the date of the first publication of notice by the county treasurer, the owner shall forfeit the rights of the owner to the value of such money or goods and the value of such money or goods shall be placed in the general fund of the county to be used for the payment of the general operating expenses of the county.
Laws 1973, c. 642, § 2; Laws 1989, c. 522, § 2; Laws 2013, c. 220, § 2, eff. Jan. 1, 2014.
If an owner of money or goods found by another person appears and establishes a claim to such money or goods within the time period prescribed by ORS 98.005 or 98.015, whichever applies, the owner shall have restitution of such money or goods or their value upon payment of all costs and charges incurred in the finding, giving of notice, care and custody of such money or goods.
Laws 1973, c. 642, § 3.
<Text subject to final change by the Oregon Office of the Legislative Counsel.>
(1) The provisions of ORS 98.005, 98.015, 98.025 and 98.302 to 98.436 do not apply to prepaid transportation cards that are held or owing in the ordinary course of the holder's business and that have remained unclaimed by the owner.
(2) As used in this section, “prepaid transportation card” means any prefunded record evidencing a promise that one or more units of state or local government of any state will provide to the owner or holder of the record, in the amount shown in the record, transportation services that may include but are not limited to the use of a transit system, road or bridge access, use of the transportation system of a transportation district and parking access.
Added by Laws 2016, c. 58, § 1, eff. Jan. 1, 2017.
(1) The administrator may compile information or data in the possession of the Department of State Lands into finder's reports at the request of any person to assist in finding the owners of abandoned or unclaimed property.
(2) The administrator shall adopt by rule a fee for copies of finder's reports. The fee charged shall be commensurate with preparation costs including production, duplication and staff time involved.
(3) Any person requesting a copy of a finder's report shall be charged the fee.
(4) As used in subsections (1) to (3) of this section:
(a) "Administrator" has the same meaning as given by ORS 98.302.
(b) "Person" includes any natural person, corporation, partnership, firm or association.
(c) "Finder's report" means any report prepared by the administrator for the benefit of any person to assist in finding the owners of abandoned or unclaimed property.
Laws 1987, c. 708, §§ 1,2; Laws 2001, c. 237, § 2.