United States

Displaying 4151 - 4160 of 4458
Titlesort descending Summary
VA - Impound - § 3.2-6549. Releasing agencies other than pounds or animal shelters; confinement and disposition of companion ani


This Virginia statute outlines the requirements for releasing agencies other than pounds or animal shelters.  Included in the provisions are recordkeeping requirements, a requirement that each agency receives a signed statement from each of its directors, operators, staff, or animal caregivers specifying that each individual has never been convicted of animal cruelty, neglect, or abandonment, and owner notice provisions.

VA - Impound - § 3.2-6551. Notification by individuals finding companion animals; penalty


This recent Virginia statute provides that any individual who finds a companion animal and provides care shall, within 48 hours, make a reasonable attempt to notify the owner of the companion animal, if the owner can be ascertained from any tag, license, collar, tattoo, or other form of identification and notify the pound that serves the locality where the companion animal was found.  Any individual who violates this section may be subject to a civil penalty not to exceed $50 per companion animal.

VA - Initiatives - Virginia Ballot Measure 2 (2000), Right to Hunt, Fish, and Harvest Game This Virginia ballot measure passed in 2000 provided by constitutional amendment that, "The people have a right to hunt, fish, and harvest game, subject to such regulations and restrictions as the General Assembly may prescribe by general law." It passed with 60% of the vote.
VA - Licenses - § 3.2-6524. Unlicensed dogs prohibited; ordinances for licensing cats This Virginia statute provides that it is unlawful for any person to own a dog four months old or older in the state unless such dog is licensed.  With regard to cats, the governing body of any county, city or town may, by local ordinance, prohibit any person from owning a cat four months or older within such locality unless such cat is licensed.
VA - Licenses - § 3.2-6527. How to obtain license
This Virginia statute describes the process under which an individual may obtain a dog or cat license.  Generally, it states that any person may obtain a dog license or cat license if required by an ordinance by making oral or written application to the treasurer of the county or city in which such person resides, accompanied by the amount of license tax and current certificate of vaccination as required by this article.
VA - Licenses - § 3.2-6528. Amount of license tax
This Virginia statute provides that the governing body of each county or city shall impose by ordinance a license tax on the ownership of dogs within its jurisdiction.  With regard to cats, the governing body of any county, city or town which has adopted an ordinance requiring licensing of cats shall impose by ordinance a license tax on the ownership of cats within its jurisdiction.  The tax amount may vary depending on whether the pet is male or female, and neutered or spayed. 
VA - Liens - § 43–32 Lien of keeper of livery stable, marina, etc.

Every keeper of a livery stable, hangar, tie-down, or marina, and every person pasturing or keeping any horses or other animals, boats, aircrafts, or harness, will have a lien for the amount that would be due for towing, storage, recovery, keeping, supporting, and care. The lien will be removed once the amount is paid.

VA - Nuisance animals - § 29.1-517. Trapping and shooting of fur-bearing animals during closed season This Virginia law states that a landowner may shoot fur-bearing animals upon his own land during closed season when these animals are causing damage to crops or property, or are posing a threat to human health or safety, or are otherwise causing a nuisance.
VA - Ordinance - § 3.2-6587. Unlawful acts; penalties


This Virginia statute describes the unlawful acts related to pets that will constitute Class 4 misdemeanors.  Included are furnishing a false license application, failing to pay license tax, violating a leash or rabies ordinance, not disposing of dead companion animals per statute, and improperly concealing a pet.  Also, a Class 1 misdemeanor may be imposed for falsely impersonating a humane officer or for falsifying a claim for animal damage.

VA - Ordinances - § 3.2-6537. Ordinances; penalties (pet shops)
This Virginia statute provides that the governing body of any county, city or town may, by local ordinance, require a person operating a pet shop or operating as a dealer in companion animals to obtain a permit.  It further outlines the specific requirements the ordinance may provide, including record-keeping and penalties.

Pages