Statutes / Laws

Navigation

Full Site Search

Loading...

The navigation select boxes below will direct you to the selected page when you hit enter.

Topical Explanations

Primary Legal Materials

Select by Subject

Select by Species

Select Administrative Topic


World Law

Secondary Legal Materials

Great Apes and the Law

Great Apes and the Law

Maps of State Laws

Map of USA
Share |
Oklahoma

Oklahoma Statutes Annotated, Title 29. Game and Fish, Chapter 1. Oklahoma Wildlife Conservation Code, Article VII. Miscellaneous Part 6. Transportation of Wildlife

Statute Details
Printable Version
Citation: 29 Okl.St.Ann. 7-601 - 602

Citation: OK ST T. 29 7-601 - 602


Last Checked by Web Center Staff: 01/2014

Summary:   Under these Oklahoma statutes, no railroad, express company or other common carrier may transport any wildlife or endangered or rare species, with exceptions. A violation could result in a fine of $25 to $100. In addition, no person may transport into or out of Oklahoma any wildlife or parts thereof, nests of wildlife, their eggs or their young, or any endangered or threatened species, with exceptions. A violation could result in a fine of $50 to $200, and/or imprisonment of 10 to 60 days in county jail.


Statute in Full:

 

§ 7-601. Common carrier requirements

§ 7-602. General prohibition against transporting wildlife--Exceptions

 

§ 7-601. Common carrier requirements

A. Except as provided by law, no railroad, express company or other common carrier or any agent, servant or employee thereof may receive for transportation or transport any wildlife or endangered or rare species in this state.

B. All such companies in this state shall keep a copy of this Code on file at each of their shipping offices in this state for the information of their employees.

C. Any aforesaid company, its agents, servants or employees convicted of violating the provisions of this section shall be fined not less than Twenty-five Dollars ($25.00) nor more than One Hundred Dollars ($100.00).

Credits

Laws 1974, c. 17, § 7-601, eff. April 8, 1974.

 

§ 7-602. General prohibition against transporting wildlife--Exceptions

A. Except as otherwise provided by law, no person may ship into or out of, transport into or out of, have in possession with the intent to so transport, or cause to be removed from this state:

1. Any wildlife or parts thereof, nests of wildlife, their eggs or their young; or

2. Any endangered or threatened species.

B. Exceptions to paragraph 1 of subsection A of this section are:

1. Dead fish or wildlife legally taken by licensed hunters or fishermen for noncommercial purposes may be possessed, shipped, or transported into or within the borders of this state if it is accompanied by or has attached the appropriate certificate, license or tag as may be required by the Oklahoma Wildlife Conservation Code, rules, or the laws of another state;

2. Rough fish products that have been completely processed into food or other products that legally taken fish may yield may be exported from the state;

3. Any rough fish taken by licensed commercial fishermen who have been issued a special permit as required by Section 4-105 of this title by the Director may be shipped, transported or exported pursuant to the permit;

4. Any fish or wildlife lawfully bred or propagated may be shipped or transported within the confines of this state or exported out of this state;

5. Any wildlife for which the Director has given an individual specific written authority for its transportation into or out of the state; or

6. Any farmed cervidae licensed pursuant to the Oklahoma Farmed Cervidae Act.1

C. An owner or operator of a commercially licensed hunting facility shall be permitted to transport cervidae from one in-state hunt facility to another in-state hunt facility without a permit issued by the Department of Wildlife Conservation.

D. Any person convicted of violating the provisions of this section shall be punished by a fine of not less than Fifty Dollars ($50.00) nor more than Two Hundred Dollars ($200.00), or by imprisonment in the county jail for a period not less than ten (10) days nor more than sixty (60) days, or by both.

Credits

Laws 1974, c. 17, § 7-602, eff. April 8, 1974; Laws 1991, c. 182, § 55, eff. Sept. 1, 1991; Laws 1992, c. 149, § 14, emerg. eff. April 30, 1992; Laws 1996, c. 117, § 2, eff. July 1, 1996; Laws 2006, c. 138, § 20, eff. Nov. 1, 2006; Laws 2008, c. 63, § 3, eff. July 1, 2008.

Footnotes

1 Title 2, § 6-501 et seq.

 



Top of Page
Share |