Statutes / Laws

Navigation

Full Site Search

Loading...

The navigation select boxes below will direct you to the selected page when you hit enter.

Topical Explanations

Primary Legal Materials

Select by Subject

Select by Species

Select Administrative Topic


World Law

Secondary Legal Materials

Great Apes and the Law

Great Apes and the Law

Maps of State Laws

Map of USA
Share |
Alabama

Code of Alabama. Title 9. Conservation and Natural Resources. Chapter 2. Department of Conservation and Natural Resources. Article 1. General Provisions.

Statute Details
Printable Version
Citation: AL ST 9-2-13

Citation: Ala. Code 1975 9-2-13


Last Checked by Web Center Staff: 10/2013

Summary:   This Alabama law provides that the Commissioner of Conservation and Natural Resources may, by regulation, prohibit the importation of any animal when such importation is not in the best interest of the state. However, this does not apply to those animals used for display purposes at circuses, carnivals, zoos, and other shows or exhibits. Importing a prohibited animal into the state is a Class C misdemeanor with a fine of $1,000 - 5,000, or jail for 30 days, or both.


Statute in Full:


(a) The Commissioner of Conservation and Natural Resources may prohibit by duly promulgated regulation the importation of any bird, animal, reptile, amphibian, or fish when the importation of the animal, bird, reptile, amphibian, or fish would not be in the best interest of the state.

(b) This section does not apply to birds, animals, reptiles, amphibians, and fish used for display purposes for carnivals, zoos, circuses, and other like shows and exhibits where ample provision is made so the birds, animals, reptiles, amphibians, and fish will not escape or be released in this state.

(c) Any person, firm, corporation, partnership, or association who or which imports, brings, or causes to be brought or imported into the State of Alabama any bird, animal, reptile, amphibian, or fish, the importation of which has been forbidden by duly promulgated regulation of the commissioner, shall be in violation of this section and upon conviction thereof shall be guilty of a Class C misdemeanor, except that the punishment for each offense shall be a fine of not less than one thousand dollars ($1,000) nor more than five thousand dollars ($5,000) or imprisonment in the county jail for not more than 30 days, or both.

CREDIT(S)

(Acts 1969, No. 414, p. 813, §§ 1-3; Act 2002-510, p. 1314, § 1.)


 



Top of Page
Share |