|Statute by category||Citation||Summary|
|TX - Dangerous - Subchapter B: Dogs That Are A Danger to Animals||V. T. C. A., Health & Safety Code § 822.011 - 013||
Subchapter B prohibits dogs from running at large and enumerates the criminal penalty for such violation.
|TX - Cruelty - Chapter 821. Treatment and Disposition of Animals.||V. T. C. A., Health & Safety Code § 821.001 - 026; § 821.051 - 057; § 821.076 - 081||
This Texas section addresses the treatment of animals and disposition of cruelly treated animals.
|TX - Assistance animals - Assistance Animal/Guide Dog Laws||V. T. C. A., Government Code § 661.910; V. T. C. A., Human Resources Code § 121.002 - 009; V. T. C. A., Penal Code § 42.091; V.T.C.A., Penal Code § 38.151; V. T. C. A., Transportation Code § 552.008 - 010; V. T. C. A., Health & Safety Code§ 437.023||
The following statutes comprise the state's relevant assistance animal and guide dog laws.
|TX - Disaster - § 418.043. Other Powers and Duties (pet disaster planning)||V. T. C. A., Government Code § 418.043||
The Texas Division of Emergency Management is directed to assist political subdivisions in developing plans for the humane evacuation, transport, and temporary sheltering of service animals and household pets in a disaster.
|TX - Counseling - § 54.0407. Cruelty to Animals: Counseling Required.||V. T. C. A., Family Code § 54.0407||
For juveniles convicted under the Texas criminal animal cruelty statute (found at Tex. Penal Code § 42.09), psychological counseling is required.
|TX - Equine Activity Liability - Chapter 87. Liability Arising from Equine Activities or Livestock Shows.||V. T. C. A., Civil Practice & Remedies Code § 87.001 - 005||
This Texas section provides that any person, including an equine activity sponsor, equine professional, livestock show participant, or livestock show sponsor, is not liable for property damage or damages arising from the personal injury or death of a participant in an equine activity or livestock show if the property damage, injury, or death results from the dangers or conditions that are an inherent risk of an equine activity or the showing of an animal on a competitive basis in a livestock show. The statute also requires the visible displaying of "clearly readable" warning signs that alert participants to the limitation of liability by law.
|TX - Horse - Sale of Horsemeat (Chapter 149. Sale of Horsemeat for Human Consumption)||V. T. C. A., Agriculture Code § 149.001 - 007||
These statutes prohibit the sale of horsemeat, the possession of horsemeat with the intent to sell, and the knowing transfer of horsemeat to a person who intends to sell it for human consumption. Horsemeat is defined as the flesh of an animal of the genus equus. Prima facie evidence of an offense is prescribed by these statues and includes, for example, the presence of horsemeat in a restaurant or cafe. The penalty for an offense may be a fine of up to a $1,000, confinement for not less than 30 days and not more than two years, or both a fine and confinement.
|MO - Ordinances - Chapter 79. Fourth Class Cities. Police and Health Regulations||V. A. M. S. 79.400||This Missouri statute provides that a local board of aldermen may tax, regulate and restrain and prohibit the running at large of dogs, and provide for their destruction when at large contrary to ordinance, and impose penalties on the owners or keepers thereof.|
|MO - Ordinances - Chapter 77. Third Class Cities||V. A. M. S. 77.590, 79.110, 80.090, 82.300||This set of statutes authorizes municipal governments to regulate animals and animal-related nuisances.|
|MO - Ecoterrorism - Chapter 578. Miscellaneous Offenses. Animal Research and Production Facilities||V. A. M. S. 578.405 - 578.412||This chapter comprises "The Animal Research and Production Facilities Protection Act." The act prohibits anyone from releasing, stealing, or otherwise intentionally causing the death, injury, or loss of any animal at or from an animal facility. It also prohibits any person from damaging, vandalizing, or stealing any property in or on an animal facility, or obtaining access to an animal facility by false pretenses for the purpose of performing acts not authorized by the facility. Generally, violation is a misdemeanor if the loss is less than $300 and a felony if it exceeds that amount. Any person who has been damaged by a violation of section 578.407 may recover all actual and consequential damages, punitive damages, and court costs, including reasonable attorneys' fees, from the person causing such damage.|
|MO - Exotic pet - 578.023. Keeping a dangerous wild animal, penalty||V. A. M. S. 578.023||This Missouri law states that no person may keep any lion, tiger, leopard, ocelot, jaguar, cheetah, margay, mountain lion, Canada lynx, bobcat, jaguarundi, hyena, wolf, bear, nonhuman primate, coyote, any deadly, dangerous, or poisonous reptile, or any deadly or dangerous reptile over eight feet long, in any place other than a properly maintained zoological park, circus, scientific, or educational institution, research laboratory, veterinary hospital, or animal refuge, unless such person has registered such animals with the local law enforcement agency in the county in which the animal is kept. Violation is a class C misdemeanor.|
|MO - Cruelty - Consolidated Cruelty Statutes||V. A. M. S. 578.005 - 188; 566.111||These Missouri statutes comprise the state's anti-cruelty laws. The term "animal" means every living vertebrate except a human being. The provisions of sections 578.005 to 578.023 do not apply to the care or treatment performed by a licensed veterinarian, bona fide scientific experiments, hunting, fishing, or trapping, publicly funded zoological parks, rodeo practices, the killing of an animal by the owner, the lawful, humane killing of an animal by an animal control officer, the operator of an animal shelter, a veterinarian, or law enforcement or health official, normal or accepted practices of animal husbandry, the killing of an animal by any person at any time if such animal is outside of the property of the owner or if such animal is injuring any person or farm animal, the killing of house or garden pests, or field trials, training and hunting practices as accepted by the Professional Houndsmen of Missouri. A person is guilty of animal neglect when he or she has custody or ownership or an animal and fails to provide adequate care, which results in substantial harm to the animal. A person is guilty of abandonment when he or she has knowingly abandoned an animal in any place without making provisions for its adequate care. Animal neglect and abandonment is a class C misdemeanor upon first conviction with enhancement to a class B misdemeanor for subsequent convictions. A person is guilty of animal abuse when a person intentionally or purposely kills an animal in any manner not allowed by law, purposely or intentionally causes injury or suffering to an animal, or, having ownership or custody of an animal, knowingly fails to provide adequate care or control. Animal abuse is a class A misdemeanor unless the person was previously convicted.|
|MO - Equine Activity Liability - 537.325. Definitions--liability for equine or livestock||V. A. M. S. 537.325||This Missouri statute provides that an equine activity sponsor, an equine professional or any other person shall not be liable for an injury to or the death of a participant resulting from the inherent risks of equine activities and no participant shall make maintain an action against an equine operator. Statutory definitions are provided, including "participant," "inherent risk," and who is considered an "equine sponsor" or "equine professional." The term "engages in an equine activity" does not include being a spectator at an equine activity, except in cases where the spectator places him or herself in an unauthorized area. The statute also requires the visible displaying of warning signs that alert participants to the limitation of liability by law.|
|MO - Lost Dog - Uniform Disposition of Unclaimed Property Act||V. A. M. S. 447.010 - 110||This section comprises Missouri's Uniform Disposition of Unclaimed Property Act.|
|MO - Lien, care and board - Chapter 430. Liens for Keeping, Training and Breeding Animals||V. A. M. S. 430.150 - 220||This chapter of Missouri laws concerns liens for the keeping, training, and breeding of animals. Section 430.150 states that every person who keeps, boards or trains any horse, mule or other animal has a lien on such animal, and on any vehicle, harness or equipment that came with the animal, for the amount due. No owner or claimant has the right to take any such property out of the custody of the person having such lien, except with the lienholder's consent or on the payment of such debt. Section 430.160 outlines the procedure for enforcement of the lien, which includes where to file a claim and the notice requirements.|
|MO - Veterinary - Chapter 340. Veterinarians.||V. A. M. S. 340.010 - 405||These are the state's veterinary practice laws. Among the provisions include licensing requirements, laws concerning the state veterinary board, veterinary records laws, and the laws governing disciplinary actions for impaired or incompetent practitioners.|
|MO - Rabies - Chapter 322. Protection Against Rabies||V. A. M. S. 322.090 - 322.145||This chapter concerns laws preventing the transmission and control of rabies and other zoonotic diseases. Section 322.140 provides that if a county does not adopt rules and regulations pursuant to sections 322.090 to 322.130, whenever an animal bites or otherwise possibly transmits rabies or any zoonotic disease, the incident shall be immediately reported to the county health department. It also provides that the owner of an owner that bites is responsible for the costs associated with rabies testing and/or treatment. Further, the owner of an animal that bites or otherwise possibly transmitted rabies or any zoonotic disease shall be liable to an injured party for all damages done by the animal.|
|MO - Impound - Chapter 273. Dogs--Cats. Local Option Dog Tax.||V. A. M. S. 273.100||This Missouri statute provides that every city or town marshal of every incorporated city or town shall seize and impound all dogs found running at large without collars around their necks. These dogs will be kept for a period of one week after which they shall be put to death by humane methods. The statute further states that any marshal who shall fail or refuse to take up and impound any such dog shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction thereof fined not less than five dollars nor more than twenty-five dollars.|
|MO - Wildlife - Chapter 252. Department of Conservation--Fish and Game.||V. A. M. S. 252.040||No wildlife shall be pursued, taken, killed, possessed or disposed of except in the manner, to the extent and at the time or times permitted by such rules and regulations; and any pursuit, taking, killing, possession or disposition thereof, except as permitted by such rules and regulations, are hereby prohibited. Any person violating this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor except that any person violating any of the rules and regulations pertaining to record keeping requirements imposed on licensed fur buyers and fur dealers shall be guilty of an infraction and shall be fined not less than ten dollars nor more than one hundred dollars. At least one case has held this statute to be applicable to dogs chasing deer.|
|MO - Assistance Animal - Assistance Animal/Guide Dog Laws||V. A. M. S. 209.150; 209.152, 209.160, 209.162, 209.190, 209.200, 209.202, 209.204; 304.080; 387.426||
The following statutes comprise the state's relevant assistance animal and guide dog laws.
|MO - Hunting - Chapter 537. Torts and Actions for Damages.||V. A. M. S. 578.151 - 153; V. A. M. S. 537.524||This Missouri law reflects the state's hunter harassment provision. Under the law, any person who intentionally interferes with the lawful taking of wildlife by another is guilty of the crime of interference with lawful hunting, fishing or trapping in the first degree. Violation is a class A misdemeanor. Additionally, any person who enters or remains in a hunting, fishing or trapping area where lawful hunting, fishing or trapping may occur with the intent to interfere with the lawful taking of wildlife is guilty of the crime of interference with lawful hunting, fishing or trapping in the second degree. Violation of this section is a class B misdemeanor. A court may enjoin conduct which would be in violation of the hunting interference laws and damages, including punitive damages, may be awarded to person adversely affected.|
|UT - Initiatives - Utah Supermajority for Hunting Initiatives, Proposition 5 (1998)||Utah Supermajority for Hunting Initiatives, Proposition 5 (1998) (passed)||Proposition 5 amends present provisions of the Utah Constitution regarding the power of the people of the state to initiate legislation and submit it to a vote of the people for approval or rejection by majority vote. This proposition requires a two-thirds vote in order to adopt by initiative a state law allowing, limiting, or prohibiting the taking of wildlife or the season for or method of taking wildlife. The measures passed with 56.1% of the vote.|
|US - Divorce/Custody - Uniform Marriage & Divorce Act. Section 307. Part III Dissolution. Section 307 Disposition of Property.||ULA Marr & Divorce s 307||
Uniform act created to address division of marital property upon divorce in equitable distribution jurisdiction. Two alternatives are given, directing equitable apportionment in one and division in just proportions in the other.
|US - Divorce/Custody - United States. Uniform Marital Property Act. Section 4. Classification of Property of Spouses.||ULA Marital Property Act s 4||
Uniform act created to address division of marital property upon divorce in community property jurisdictions.
|UK - Pets - Pet Animals Act 1951||UK ST 1951 c 35||
An Act establishing a licensing structure for pet shops in the United Kingdom . The Act sets forth certain conditions that local authorities may consider in determining whether or not to grant someone a pet shop license. In determining whether or not to grant a license, local authorities may investigate applicants and confirm that animals will be kept in a sanitary and suitable physical environment, that they will be fed and watered regularly, and that they will not be sold before they reach an appropriate age, among other factors.
|US - MMPA - Legislative History of 1972||U.S.C.C.A.N. 4144, 1971 WL 11285 (Leg.Hist.)||
This document contains most of the legislative history surrounding the 1972 adoption of the Marine Mammal Protection Act.
|UT - Equine Activity Liability - Part 2. Limitations on Liability for Equine and Livestock Activities||U.C.A. 1953 § 78B-4-201 - 203||
This Utah section states that it is presumed that participants in equine or livestock activities are aware of and understand that there are inherent risks associated with these activities. Thus, an equine activity sponsor, equine professional, livestock activity sponsor, or livestock professional is not liable for an injury to or the death of a participant due to the inherent risks associated with these activities. The section also requires an equine professional to give notice to participants of the limitation of liability, either by the posting of a sign or by the execution of a written release.
|UT - Impound - (Repealed) § 77-24-1.5. Safekeeping by officer pending disposition--Records required||U.C.A. 1953 § 77-24-1.5 (§§ 77-24-1 to 77-24-5. Repealed by Laws 2013, c. 394, § 40, eff. July 1, 2013)||
§§ 77-24-1 to 77-24-5. Repealed by Laws 2013, c. 394, § 40, eff. July 1, 2013 (Formerly: this Utah statute, amended in 2011, states that each peace officer shall hold all "property" in safe custody until it is received into evidence or disposed of as provided in this chapter. He or she must also maintain a record that identifies it. Note that the provisions related to specifically to animal impoundment/euthanasia were removed.)
|UT - Cruelty - Consolidated Cruelty Statutes||U.C.A. 1953 § 76-9-301 - 308||
These Utah statutes comprise the state's anti-cruelty provisions. "Animal" is defined as a live, nonhuman vertebrate creature, but animals raised for agricultural purposes and wildlife are excluded from the definition. A person is guilty of cruelty to animals if the person intentionally, knowingly, recklessly, or with criminal negligence fails to provide necessary food, care, or shelter for an animal in his custody, abandons an animal in the person's custody, transports or confines an animal in a cruel manner, injures an animal, or causes any animal to fight with another animal for amusement or gain. Aggravated cruelty (i.e., torturing, poisoning, or intentionally killing an animal) and dogfighting incur stiffer penalties.
|UT - Ag gag - § 76-6-112. Agricultural operation interference--Penalties||U.C.A. 1953 § 76-6-112||
This Utah law creates the crime of "agricultural operation interference ." A person commits agricultural operation interference if he or she records an image or sound from an agricultural operation by leaving a recording device without consent, obtains access to an agricultural operation under false pretenses, applies for employment with the intent to record, or without consent intentionally records the operation while committing criminal trespass.
|UT - Livestock - § 76-6-111. Wanton destruction of livestock--Penalties--Seizure and disposition of property||U.C.A. 1953 § 76-6-111||
This Utah statute makes wanton destruction of livestock a crime. A person is guilty if that person intentionally or knowingly and without the permission of the owner injures, physically alters, releases, or causes the death of livestock. Wanton destruction of livestock is punishable as a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the value of the livestock.
|UT - Ecoterrorism - § 76-6-110. Offenses committed against animal enterprises--Definitions--Enhanced penalties||U.C.A. 1953 § 76-6-110||
This section comprises Utah's animal enterprise interference law. A person who commits any criminal offense with the intent to halt, impede, obstruct, or interfere with the lawful operation of an animal enterprise or to damage, take, or cause the loss of any property owned by, used by, or in the possession of a lawful animal enterprise, is subject to an enhanced penalty. These penalties enhancements raise the level of the crime one degree (e.g., a class C misdemeanor becomes a class B misdemeanor and a class A misdemeanor becomes a third degree felony).
|UT - Trusts - § 75-2-1001. Honorary trusts--Trusts for pets||U.C.A. 1953 § 75-2-1001||
This Utah statute provides that a trust for the care of a designated domestic or pet animal is valid. The trust terminates when no living animal is covered by the trust. Trusts under this section shall be liberally construed to presume against the merely precatory or honorary nature of the disposition, and to carry out the general intent of the transferor.
|UT - Native American - § 64-13-40. Worship for native American inmates||U.C.A. 1953 § 64-13-40||
This unique provision allows Native American inmates in Utah access to eagle parts and other traditional ceremonial objects for use in worship. The inmate has the burden of establishing his or her Native American ancestry.
|UT - Assistance animal - Assistance Animal/Guide Dog Laws||U.C.A. 1953 § 62A-5b-101 - 107; § 41-6a-1007; § 18-1-3; § 76-9-307; § 78B-3-701 - 703; § 10-8-65; § 17-50-336||
The following statutes comprise the state's relevant assistance animal and guide dog laws.
|UT - Abandonment - § 58-28-601. Animal abandonment||U.C.A. 1953 § 58-28-601||
This Utah statute provides that any animal abandoned at a veterinarian's office for a period of ten days may be sold or placed in the custody of the nearest humane society or county dog pound after giving notice to the owner. If no humane society or dog pound is located in the county, the animal may be disposed of in a humane manner.
|UT - Veterinary - Chapter 28. Veterinary Practice Act.||U.C.A. 1953 § 58-28-101 - 606||
These are the state's veterinary practice laws. Among the provisions include licensing requirements, laws concerning the state veterinary board, veterinary records laws, and the laws governing disciplinary actions for impaired or incompetent practitioners.
|UT - Predator Control - Chapter 23. Agricultural and Wildlife Damage Prevention Act||U.C.A. 1953 § 4-23-101 - 111||This Utah statute is known as the Agricultural and Wildlife Damage Prevention Act. It creates the Agricultural and Wildlife Damage Prevention Board and Agricultural and Wildlife Damage Prevention Account. This act also makes it a class B misdemeanor to hold a raccoon or coyote in captivity (with exceptions).|
|UT - Lien - § 38-2-1. Lien on livestock--For feed and care||U.C.A. 1953 § 38-2-1||Every ranchman, farmer, agistor, herder of cattle, tavern keeper or livery stable keeper to whom any domestic animals shall be entrusted for the purpose of feeding, herding or pasturing shall have a lien upon such animals for the amount that may be due him for such feeding, herding or pasturing, and is authorized to retain possession of such animals until such amount is paid.|
|UT - Wolves - Chapter 29. Wolf Management Act||U.C.A. 1953 § 23-29-101 - 202||
Under the Utah Wolf Management Act, wolves must be managed so as to prevent the establishment of a viable pack anywhere in the state where the wolf is not listed as threatened or endangered until the wolf is delisted. If a wolf is discovered in an area where wolves are listed as threatened or endangered, the division must request its immediate removal from the state by the United States Fish and Wildlife Service.
|UT - Invasive Species - Chapter 27. Aquatic Invasive Species Interdiction Act||U.C.A. 1953 § 23-27-101 - 401||
These statutes comprise the Utah Aquatic Invasive Species Interdiction Act. This Act makes it illegal to possess a Dreissena mussel, release one into a water body, or transport a conveyance or equipment that has been in an infested water without decontaminating it. A violation is an infraction, but a knowing or intentional violation is guilty of a class A misdemeanor.
|UT - Hunting - § 23-20-4.5. Illegal taking, possession, or wanton destruction of protected wildlife||U.C.A. 1953 § 23-20-4.5||
This statute lists the restitution amounts for the illegal killing of certain species (including bald and golden eagles) of wildlife, with enhanced monetary penalties for "trophy" animals. These funds are used in educational and wildlife enforcement activities by the state. For discussion of federal Eagle Act, see Detailed Discussion .
|UT - Endangered Species - Chapter 20. Enforcement--Violations and Penalties||U.C.A. 1953 § 23-20-3 - 8||This Utah statute criminalizes the intentional or reckless abandonment of a carcass or killing of wildlife for pecuniary gain. The statute lists the restitution value of species protected under the code (bald eagles $1,000 and golden eagles $500). Further, the statute proscribes mandatory incarceration for felony convictions (aggregate value of species taken over $500) where the motive of the individual was pecuniary gain.|
|UT - Hunting - § 23-20-29. Interference with hunting prohibited--Action to recover damages--Exceptions||U.C.A. 1953 § 23-20-29, 23-20-29.5||
This section reflects Utah's hunter harassment provisions. A person is guilty of a class B misdemeanor who intentionally interferes with the right of a person, licensed and legally hunting, to take wildlife by driving, harassing, or intentionally disturbing any species of wildlife for the purpose of disrupting a legal hunt, trapping, or predator control. A person adversely affected, or the state, may bring a civil action for damages resulting from the violation or a seek a restraining order. This section does not apply to incidental interference with a hunt caused by lawful activities including, but not limited to, ranching, mining, and recreation.
|UT - Nuisance Animals - Chapter 18. Furbearers.||U.C.A. 1953 § 23-18-1 to 6||
These Utah statutes require a furbearer license to take furbearers, except for red fox, striped skunk, or beavers that are doing damage to private property (with authorization). Fur dealers must have a fur dealer certificate of registration from the Division of Wildlife Resources.
|UT - Wildlife - Title 23. Wildlife Resources Code of Utah||U.C.A. 1953 § 23-13-1 - 19||
Under these Utah statutes, all wildlife is the property of the state unless held in private ownership, but it is illegal to hold protected wildlife in captivity, with exceptions, such as for furbearers. Other provisions deal with invasive species, forbid remote-controlled hunting, establish the Utah State Hunting and Fishing Day, and provide penalties for violations.
|UT - Breed - § 18-2-101. Regulation of dogs by a municipality||U.C.A. 1953 § 18-2-101||This Utah law effective in 2015 prohibits a municipality from adopting breed-specific rule, regulation, policy, or ordinance regarding dogs. Any breed-specific rule, regulation, policy, or ordinance regarding dogs is void.|
|UT - Dog Bite - Title 18. Dogs. Chapter 1. Injuries by Dogs.||U.C.A. 1953 § 18-1-1 to 4||
This Utah statute provides that every person owning or keeping a dog shall be liable in damages for injury committed by such dog, and it shall not be necessary in any action brought therefor to allege or prove that such dog was of a vicious or mischievous disposition or that the owner or keeper thereof knew that it was vicious or mischievous. This does not apply to dogs used by law enforcement officials. In 2014, a provision for the use of arbitration in personal injury from dog bite cases was added.
|UT - Cats - Chapter 46. Animal Welfare Act. Part 3. Community Cat Act||U.C.A. 1953 § 11-46-301 to 304||
A shelter may release a cat prior to the 5-day holding period to a sponsor operating a community cat program. Such a cat is exempt from licensing requirements and feeding bans. Community cat sponsors or caretakers do not have custody of any cat, and sterilization and vaccination records must be kept for three years.
|UT - Sterilization - Animal Welfare Act. Part 2. Animal Shelter Pet Sterilization Act||U.C.A. 1953 § 11-46-201 - 208||
Under this Utah act, a shelter may not transfer an unsterilized animal for adoption unless the shelter has a written agreement in which the recipient agrees to have the animal sterilized and gives the shelter a sterilization deposit. If a recipient fails to comply with the agreement, the animal may be seized and impounded, and the recipient forfeits the deposit. A first violation may result in a civil penalty of $250.