New York

Displaying 81 - 90 of 197
Titlesort ascending Summary
NY - Hunting - Chapter 43-B. Of the Consolidated Laws


This New York statute provides that no person who owns, operates or manages a facility that harbors non-native big game mammals shall knowingly permit the taking on such premises by any person who pays a fee to take a live non-native big game mammal by any of the following means:  the shooting or spearing of a non-native big game mammal that is tied or hobbled; the shooting or spearing of a non-native big game mammal that is staked or attached to any object; the shooting or spearing of a non-native big game mammal that is confined in a box, pen, cage or similar container of ten or less contiguous acres from which there is no means for such mammal to escape, among other things.

NY - Horse Racing - Section 4117.1. Drive to finish


Every race must be contested by every horse in the race and every horse must be driven to the finish.

NY - Horse Racing - Section 4043.2. Restricted use of drugs, medication and other substances


This regulation states which drugs and medications are permitted to be used in racehorses in New York, and how and when they may be administered.

NY - Horse Racing - Section 4002.8. Qualifications for license


If the New York State Racing and Wagering Board finds that an applicant meets the criteria for financial responsibility, experience, character and fitness, then it will issue an occupational license to that person.

NY - Horse Racing - Section 4002.23. License qualifications for private trainer


A private trainer's license may be issued to an applicant who has an ownership or lease interest in a horse exceeding 50 percent if that person has been a licensed owner for one year, has three years of experience with Thoroughbred racehorses, and passes written and practical exams.

NY - Horse Racing - Section 4002.22. License qualifications for trainer


The qualifications for an initial trainer's license are 12 months as a licensed assistant trainer in NY, or 12 months in another jurisdiction with a certificate from track stewards in that state.

NY - Horse Racing - Section 4002.21. License requirements for assistant trainer


An assistant trainer's license may be issued to a person who is 18 years old, has three years of experience, is vouched for by the trainer by whom he or she is to be employed, and passes a written exam (or oral) and a practical exam.

NY - Horse Racing - Section 4002.1. Occupational licenses


Sec. 4002.1 requires that anyone participating in any thoroughbred race meet as a managing owner, racing owner, trainer, assistant trainer, jockey, apprentice jockey, jockey agent, veterinarian, farrier, stable employee, track supplier, equipment supplier, salesman, agent or operator of any concession to have an occupational license issued by the New York State Racing and Wagering Board.

NY - Fur - Title 11. Trapping


This set of New York laws sets forth the state's trapping laws. Among the laws includes a ban on traps of the leg-gripping type having teeth in the jaws; traps that operate such that wildlife is suspended when caught; and noose-type snares. No person shall set or use a body gripping type trap with a dimension of more than 7 1/2 inches except as provided by state rules for for trapping beaver or otter during the open season. Traps must bear the name and residence address or the assigned identification number of the operator at all times. Traps must be visited once every 24 hours except in the Northern Zone where it's once every 48 hours.

NY - Fur - Chapter 20. Of the Consolidated Laws.


Makes it illegal for any person, firm, partnership or corporation to knowingly import, sell at retail or manufacture clothing with fur which is not properly labeled as containing "faux fur" or "real fur."  Defines appropriate labeling by adding the appropriate description to the permanent tag attached to the clothing, a temporary tag to identify the clothing, or by affixing a sticker with the description in a conspicuous place on the clothing.  Sets the maximum punishment to not exceed a $500 fine for the first violation and not to exceed $1000 for each subsequent violation.

Pages