Displaying 171 - 180 of 244
Titlesort ascending Summary
CA - Food Production - Chapter 13.4. Force Fed Birds

This chapter concerns force fed birds (usually ducks or geese), employed in the process of making foie gras . Beginning July 1, 2012, California outlaws the sale of any product in the state that is the result of force feeding a bird for the purpose of enlarging the bird's liver beyond normal size. A peace or humane society officer may issue a citation for a civil penalty up to $1,000 for each violation, and up to $1,000 for each day the violation continues.

CA - Fishing, Sport - Sport Fishing Provisions

These provisions apply to the taking and possession of fish for any purpose other than commercial.  The provisions outline license requirements, bag limits and possession requirements for various types of fish, as well as enumerate certain sale and taking prohibitions.

CA - Fish & Game - Chapter 1. Taking and Possessing in General

These sections make it unlawful to take any bird, mammal, fish, reptile, or amphibian except as provided in this code.  Some of the restrictions in the code refer to taking after season, offering a prize or inducement to take game, setting a bounty for an animal, using sniper scopes, artificial lights, or trap guns.  Section 2009 also makes it a crime willfully interfere with the participation of any individual in the lawful activity of shooting, hunting, or fishing.

CA - Fish & Game - Chapter 1. General Definitions

This chapter includes the general definitions for the Fish and Game Code.

CA - Fish & Game - Chapter 6.5. Control of Illegally Taken Fish and Wildlife

This set of laws outlines various violations involving the possession and movement of illegally obtained animals and imposes liability for those activities.

CA - Fighting Animals - § 597b. Fighting animals or cockfighting; prohibition; penalties; aiding and abetting

This statute forbids anyone from causing a fight between any animal or creature for amusement or gain, or allowing an animal fight to take place on her premises.  It also makes it a misdemeanor for anyone to be present at an animal fight.

CA - Fighting - § 598.1. Dogfighting; forfeiture proceedings

This California law allows the prosecuting attorney to file a petition for forfeiture in animal fighting cases under Section 597.5 or subdivision (b) of Section 597b. Any property interest, whether tangible or intangible, that was acquired through the commission of any of the crimes listed in subdivision (a) of Section 597.5 or subdivision (b) of Section 597b shall be subject to forfeiture, including both personal and real property, profits, proceeds, and the instrumentalities acquired, accumulated, or used by cockfighting or dogfighting participants, organizers, transporters of animals and equipment, breeders and trainers of fighting birds or fighting dogs, and persons who steal or illegally obtain dogs or other animals for fighting, including bait and sparring animals.

CA - Fighting - § 597d. Fighting animals or birds; entries and arrests without warrant

This provision allows for law enforcement officers to enter any place, building, or tenement, where there is an exhibition of the fighting of birds or animals, or where preparations are being made for such an exhibition, and, without a warrant, arrest all persons present.

CA - Fighting - § 597c. Animal fighting exhibitions; spectators; penalty

Whoever owns, possesses, keeps, or trains any bird or animal, with the intent that such animal shall be engaged in an exhibition of fighting, or is present at such exhibition, is guilty of a misdemeanor.

CA - Farm Animal Cruelty - Chapter 13.8. Farm Animal Cruelty. § 25991. Definitions.

This section provides the definitions, exception,s and enforcement provisions for the Chapter 13.8, Farm Animal Cruelty. The section was added after voters approved Initiative Measure (Prop. 2) in 2008. Any person who violates any of the provisions of this chapter is guilty of a misdemeanor, and upon conviction thereof shall be punished by a fine not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000) or by imprisonment in the county jail for a period not to exceed 180 days or by both such fine and imprisonment.