Articles

Navigation

Full Site Search

Loading...

The navigation select boxes below will direct you to the selected page when you hit enter.

Topical Explanations

Primary Legal Materials

Select by Subject

Select by Species

Select Administrative Topic


World Law

Secondary Legal Materials

Great Apes and the Law

Great Apes and the Law

Maps of State Laws

Map of USA
Share |
Chart of State Dogfighting Laws

Hanna Gibson


Animal Legal & Historical Center
Publish Date:
Updated 2010
Place of Publication: Michigan State University College of Law
Printable Version

Chart of State Dogfighting Laws

 

 

STATE DOGFIGHTING STATUTES

STATE

STATUTORY

CITATION

FELONY/

MISDEMEANOR

F = Felony

M= Misdemeanor

 

PUNISHMENT FOR KEEPING FIGHTING DOG/INSTIGATING

MAXIMUM FINE FOR KEEPING/INSTIGATING (if listed in statute)

 

SPECTATOR PROVISION

= Felony

= Misd. or Less

No box=legal

KEEP/OWN/POSSESS

PROVISION

= Felony

= Misd. or Less

Alabama

§ 3-1-29

F

 

Class C felony

Alaska

§11.61.145

 

F

Class C felony

Arizona

§ 13-2910.01

 

F

Class 5 felony

Arkansas

§ 5-62-120

 

F

Class D felony

California

CA PENAL § 597.5

 

F

Felony with imprisonment of 16 months or 2-3 years

$50,000

 

 *2010 amend. removed word "misdemeanor" and replaced with "offense"

Colorado

§ 18-9-204

 

F

Class 5 felony for 1st offense

 

Class 4 felony for 2nd or subsequent offenses

1st offense: up to $1,000

2nd or subsequent: up to $5,000

Connecticut

§ 53-247 (c)

 

F

5 years imprisonment

up to $5,000

Delaware

DE ST T11 § 1326

 

F

 Class F felony

 

Florida

§ 828.122

 

F

Third degree felony

Georgia

§ 16-12-37

 

F

1st offense: felony with not less than 1 year nor more than 5 years imprisonment.

 

2nd or subsequent: 1- 10 years

1st offense: not less than $5,000

 

2nd or subsequent: not less than $15,000

Hawaii

§ 711-1109.3

 

F

Class C felony

 

Idaho

§ 25-3507

 

F

1st offense: 6 months jail

 

2nd offense: 9 months jail

 

3rd or subsequent: 12 months jail

1st offense: not less than $100 nor more than $5,000

2nd offense: not less than $200 nor more than $7,000

3rd or subsequent: not less than $500 nor more than $9,000

 

Illinois

§ 720 ILCS 5/26-5

 

F

1st offense: Class 4 felony

 

2nd or subsequent: Class 3 felony

 

Up to $50,000

Indiana

§ 35-46-3-9

 

F

Class D felony

Iowa

§ 717D.2

 

F

Class D felony

Kansas

§ 21-4315

 

F

Level 10 non-person felony

Kentucky

§ 525.125

 

F

Class D felony

Louisiana

§ 14:102.5

 

F

Felony - not less than 1 year nor more than 10 years imprisonment

Not less than $1,000 to $25,000

Maine

ME ST Tit. 17 § 1033

 

F

Class C crime

 

Fine of not less than $500 in addition to other penalties imposed

Maryland

MD CRIM LAW § 10-607

 

F

Felony up to 3 years imprisonment

Up to $5,000

Massachusetts

MA ST 272 § 77, § 94,

§ 95

F

Up to 5 years imprisonment

Up to $2,500

Michigan

§ 750.49

 

F

Felony up to 4 years imprisonment

Not less than $5,000 to $50,000

Minnesota

§ 343.31

 

F

Felony

Mississippi

§ 97-41-19

 

F

Felony of not less than 1 - 3 years imprisonment

Not less than 1,000 to $5,000

Missouri

§ 578.025

 

F

Class D felony

Montana

§ 45-8-210

 

F

Felony of not less than 1 year to 5 years

Up to $5,000

 

Nebraska

§ 28-1005

 

F

Class IV felony

 

Nevada

§ 574.070

 

F

 

Class D felony

New Hampshire

§ 644:8-a

 

F

 

Class B felony

 

New Jersey

§ 4:22-24

 

F

 

3rd degree felony

 

New Mexico

§ 30-18-9

 

F

 

4th degree felony

 

New York

NY AGRI & MKTS § 351

 

F

Felony up to 4 years

Up to $25,000

North Carolina

§ 14-362.2

 

F

 

Class H felony

 

North Dakota

36-21.1-07

 

F

 

Class C felony

 

 

Ohio

§ 959.16

 

F

 

Felony of 4th degree

 

 

Oklahoma

§ 1693- §1699.2

 

F

Felony punishable by imprisonment not less than 1 year up to 10 years

Not less than $2,000 up to $25,000

Oregon

§ 167.365

 

F

 

Class C felony

 

Pennsylvania

PA ST 18 PaC.S.A. § 5511

 

F

 

Felony of the 3rd degree

 

Rhode Island

§ 4-1-9,10,11

 

F

Felony with up to 2 years imprisonment for 1st and subsequent offenses.

1st offense: not exceeding $1,000

 

2nd or subsequent: not less than $1,000 to $5,000

South Carolina

§ 16-27-30

 

F

 

Felony with up to 5 years imprisonment

Up to $5,000

South Dakota

§ 40-1-10.1

 

F

Class 6 felony

 

Tennessee

39-14-203

 

F

Class E felony

Texas

TX PENAL § 42.10

 

F

State jail felony

Utah

§ 76-9-301.1

 

F

 

3rd degree felony

Up to $25,000

Vermont

§ 352, § 364

 

F

Felony up to 5 years

Up to $5,000

Virginia

§ 3.1-796.124

 

F

Class 6 felony

Washington

§ 16.52.117

 

F

 

Class C felony

 

West Virginia

§ 61-8-19a

 

F

Felony with imprisonment of not less than 1 year to 5 years

Not less than $1,000 to $5,000

 

Wisconsin

§ 951.08

 

F

 

Class I for 1st offense

 

Class H for 2nd or subsequent offense

 

Wyoming

§ 6-3-203

 

F

Felony with up to 2 years imprisonment

Not more than $5,000

 

Top of Page
Share |