Articles

Navigation

Full Site Search

Loading...

The navigation select boxes below will direct you to the selected page when you hit enter.

Topical Explanations

Primary Legal Materials

Select by Subject

Select by Species

Select Administrative Topic


World Law

Secondary Legal Materials

Great Apes and the Law

Great Apes and the Law

Maps of State Laws

Map of USA
Share |

Table of State Rabies Laws Concerning Cats



Rebecca F. Wisch


Animal Legal & Historical Center
Publish Date:
2011
Place of Publication: Michigan State University College of Law

Printable Version

State Citation and Link Minimum Age for Vaccination Proof Required/Certificate Penalty for Violation
Alabama

AL ST § 3-7A-2; Ala.Code 1975 § 3-7A-2

By three (3) months of age

Printed certificate signed by veterinarian

The owner of any dog or cat found not wearing the evidence of current immunization or cannot produce a certificate of current immunization is subject to a penalty not to exceed an amount equal to twice the state approved charge for immunization, in addition to the immunization fee.
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut CT § 22-339b; C.G.S.A. § 22-339b

Three (3) months of age or older

Proof of vaccination shall be a certificate issued by a licensed veterinarian Any violation of this section is be an infraction
Delaware DE ST TI 3 § 8204; 3 Del.C. § 8204 Six (6) months of age or older The owner of the cat will be responsible for keeping a valid rabies vaccination certificate in his possession Any person who violates any provision of this section shall be fined $25. No penalty imposed by this section shall be suspended.
D.C.
Florida FL ST 828.30; West's F. S. A. 828.30 Four (4) months of age or older Upon vaccination against rabies, the licensed veterinarian shall provide the animal's owner and the animal control authority with a rabies vaccination certificate. Violation of this section is a civil infraction, punishable as provided in s. 828.27(2).
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky

KY ST § 258.015; KRS § 258.015

Must be vaccinated against rabies by the age of four (4) months.

Any person with feral cats on his premises shall make a reasonable effort to capture or vaccinate the cats.

The veterinarian who vaccinates a dog, cat, or ferret shall issue to the owner a vaccination certificate Any person who violates KRS 258.015, 258.035, 258.055, 258.065, or 258.085 shall be fined not less than ten dollars ($10) nor more than one hundred dollars ($100). Each day of violation shall constitute a separate offense.
Louisiana
Maine ME ST T. 7 § 3916; 7 M. R. S. A. § 3916 An owner or keeper of a cat over three (3) months of age must have that cat vaccinated against rabies A licensed veterinarian shall issue to the owner or keeper a certificate of rabies vaccination A person who violates this chapter commits a civil violation for which a forfeiture of not more than $100 may be adjudged.
Maryland MD Code, Health - General, § 18-318; MD HEALTH GEN § 18-318 Four (4) months old or older A licensed veterinarian who vaccinates a dog, cat, or ferret against rabies shall issue to the owner of the dog, cat, or ferret a vaccination certificate, on the form that the Department approves.

Not listed

Massachusetts MA ST 140 § 145B; M.G.L.A. 140 § 145B Six (6) months of age or older

It shall be the duty of each veterinarian, at the time of vaccinating any dog or cat, to complete a certificate of rabies vaccination

Whoever violates the provisions of this section shall be punished by a fine of not more than fifty dollars.

Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana
Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire NH ST § 436:100; N.H. Rev. Stat. § 436:100 Three (3) months of age and older It shall be the duty of each veterinarian, at the time of vaccinating any dog, cat, or ferret, to complete a certificate of rabies vaccination in triplicate

Any person who violates the provisions of this subdivision or rule adopted under it shall be guilty of a violation.

New Jersey
New Mexico

NM ST § 77-1-3; NMSA 1978, § 77-1-3

Over the age of three (3) months

A licensed veterinarian shall issue a serially numbered certificate and tag

Violation shall be a misdemeanor.

New York NY PUB HEALTH § 2141; McKinney's Public Health Law § 2141 No later than four months (4) after birth The veterinarian immunizing or supervising any person authorized by law to immunize such animal shall provide the owner with a certificate of immunization The owning of a dog, cat or domesticated ferret by any person in violation of subdivision one of this section shall constitute a violation, and shall be subject to a fine not to exceed two hundred dollars for each offense
North Carolina NC ST § 130A-185; N.C.G.S.A. § 130A-185 Over four (4) months of age

A person who administers a rabies vaccine shall complete a rabies vaccination certificate.

Not listed

North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania

PA ST 3 P.S. § 455.8; 3 P.S. § 455.8

Over three (3) months of age Every licensed veterinarian who vaccinates a dog or cat against rabies shall issue a vaccination certificate and tag provided by the manufacturer to the owner.

A person who violates any provision of this act commits a summary offense and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to pay a fine not exceeding $300 for each violation. Each day of violation shall constitute a separate offense.

Rhode Island RI ST § 4-13-31; Gen. Laws, 1956, § 4-13-31 Except as otherwise amended by board regulation, the owner or keeper of a dog, cat, or ferret shall have the animal vaccinated not earlier than three (3) months of age nor later than four (4) months of age. Any veterinarian or any person directed by a veterinarian who vaccinates a dog, cat, or ferret against rabies must issue a rabies vaccination certificate to the animal's owner A person who fails to have or refuses to have each dog, cat, and/or ferret owned or kept by the person vaccinated against rabies violates the provisions of this chapter.

Any person violating the provisions of §§ 4-13-29 and 4-13-31 shall be charged with a misdemeanor and fined not less than two hundred dollars ($200) nor more than five hundred dollars ($500) for each offense or be imprisoned for not less than ten (10) days nor more than thirty (30) days and/or be subject to confiscation of the animal(s) which is/are the basis of the violation.

South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee TN ST § 68-8-103; T. C. A. § 68-8-101 Six (6) months of age or older Evidence of such vaccination shall consist of a certificate

It is an offense for any person to hide, conceal, aid, or assist in hiding or concealing any animal owned, kept or harbored in violation of § 68-8-103 or § 68-8-109.

An offense under this section (Chapter 8 on Rabies) is punishable as a Class C misdemeanor.

Any person failing to meet any requirements or violating any of the provisions of this chapter commits a Class C misdemeanor with each violation being a separate offense.

Texas

V.T.C.A., Health & Safety Code § 826.021; V.T.C.A., Health & Safety Code § 826.021

By the time the animal is four (4) months of age A veterinarian who vaccinates a dog or cat against rabies shall issue to the animal's owner a vaccination certificate A person commits an offense if the person fails or refuses to have each dog or cat owned by the person vaccinated against rabies and the animal is required to be vaccinated. An offense under this section is a Class C misdemeanor. If on the trial of an offense under this section the court finds that the person has been previously convicted of an offense under this section, the offense is a Class B misdemeanor.
Utah
Vermont
Virginia VA ST § 3.2-6521; Va. Code Ann. § 3.2-6521 Four (4) months of age and older The supervising veterinarian on the premises shall provide the owner or custodian of the dog or the cat with a rabies vaccination certificate

Not specified

Washington
West Virginia

WV ST § 19-20A-3; W. Va. Code, § 19-20A-3

Before the age of three (3) months Each person vaccinating a dog or cat for rabies shall provide a "certificate of rabies vaccination"

Whoever owns, keeps or harbors a dog or cat and fails to have such dog or cat vaccinated or revaccinated against rabies, and whoever vaccinates a dog or cat against rabies and fails or refuses to keep and report the required record of such vaccination, or fails or refuses to provide the required tag, or whoever obstructs or interferes in any way with the enforcement of any section of this article shall, upon conviction, be fined not less than ten dollars ($10) nor more than fifty dollars ($50), or be confined in the county jail not less than ten (10) days nor more than sixty (60) days, or both

Wisconsin
Wyoming
Top of Page
Share |